Bite Size Writing Tips

Need inspiration for how to open a short story?

Dialogue is a great tool:

 “Leave me alone! I hate you and I’ll never forgive you,” she spat, her lips quivering.  

“I’m sorry. I didn’t know. It wasn’t my fault,” the man said, tears in his eyes.

See how, as a reader, you’re privy to this conversation taking place and already feel part of the story. Your interest is also piqued. What did the man do? Did he mean to do it? Was it really that bad?

***

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bite Size Writing Tips

  1. Ritu says:

    Thanks for the tips Esther!
    By the way… I’ve emailed you regarding critique/editing etc! Hope to hear from you 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. teachezwell says:

    You had me at those quivering lips….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment