Guest Writer Spot

It’s Friday and time for my Guest Writer Spot, which gives writers the opportunity for their  work to be seen and read by others. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines. If you would like some of your writing to be featured on my blog, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com

This week, it’s my pleasure to introduce Thompson Crowley. To find out more about him, visit his website and Facebook page:

www.thompsoncrowley.co.uk
www.facebook.com/mrthompsoncrowley

Thompson has written, in his own words,  ‘a short bit about rhythm in writing, and life in general‘.

Rhythm…

By

Thompson Crowley

There’s a certain rhythm in everything. Life, reality, whatever you want to call it, it’s all just a collection of vibrations. For us experiencing it, each and every type of scenario we can encounter trots along at its own unique pace, enveloping us, immersing us, tuning us in. There are some that flow with more ease than others, and some that are a little awkward and stuttered; but all move in the direction to which they are heading.

I can’t help but notice the different rhythms in my life, they play such an integral part. For example, in my writing, what I’m doing right now. I take such pleasure in floating along the strings of sentences which effortlessly flow out of me, luring out sweet phrases and thoughts that I didn’t even realise my awareness contained. I feel so free and boundless, restricted only by my knowledge of the English language, which fortunately, for me, is full of a vast diversity of ideas and meanings that I can piece together to get my point across.

Music is the big one though. We all agree on this. When the first note of your preferred style hits you, instantly you are swept away onto a rainbow of flavoursome sensations; a rhythm which glides through you, under you, and above. Like flying in your dreams. And when I’m writing music I get to tap into this flow; I get to muddle through the intricacies, merging my own tempo with that of the sweet, sweet sounds. And when I get to throw words, poetry into the mix, that’s when it becomes even more fun.

I read a short article once by Robert Pinksy, about how all poetry is a physical thing; how it stems from your body, like dancing. And I have to agree with this. When you are writing the words, the sounds, the meanings, the shapes, you can feel them in your belly; throughout your whole being. There’s a reason why certain sounds, certain muscle shapes and thrusts of air, developed into certain meanings; it is embedded deep within us. And when you’re writing that’s what you are tapping into- that ancient, timeless, deep, ingrained, metaphysical, yet physical manifestation from your soul. And that’s why anything well written, anything you read that truly speaks to you, that truly leaves its mark, flows; it has rhythm.

So, whatever your passions: music, literature, sports, conversation, building, drawing, painting, gardening, dancing, computing, whatever; just find the rhythm you feel most comfortable with and indulge yourself deservedly; take endless pleasure in riding it as it is your own. Because that’s the only thing we’re here for…

***

king

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    Writer/blogger/editor Esther Newton provides us with weekly Markets for Writers. Did you know she also features guest author spots and displays writers’/poets’ work?
    Thank you, Esther, for sharing so much!

  2. DrEMiller says:

    Such a great quote from Stephen King! Whenever I come across uncharacteristic words in a book or story, I have to chuckle and wonder if the intent is to impress or hide. Even some of the most popular authors sometimes choose the wrong thesaurus word! Great post, great featured quote!

Leave a Reply

