Markets For Writers

I know a lot of you enjoy writing flash fiction so here’s a market for you. Reader’s Digest are holding their annual 100-word competition. Stories have to be exactly 100 words in length. The title isn’t included in the word count. 

Entry is FREE and the prizes are certainly worth an entry:

1st Prize:           £2000

Runners-up:   Two runners-up will receive £200 each

Closing date:   February 20th 2017

The prizes detailed above are in the adult category. There are also two other categories – for the 12-18s and under 12s. See the competition page

***

magic

This entry was posted in markets for writers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Markets For Writers

  1. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Thanks to Esther for posting this great information 😃

  2. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    A new Markets for Writers from Esther Newton! No entry fees. Take advantage of it!
    Thank you, Esther, for sharing your discovered markets! Best wishes for a wonderful week ahead!

  3. EDC Writing says:

    You know me Esther … will have a go at this, probably the day before the deadline!

  4. Pingback: disue

  5. Hi Esther, Thanks for sharing this. I decided to have a go at it this evening. It’s the first piece of fiction that I’ve ever written and it’s probably too gruesome for Readers Digest but I’m more horrified that I came up with the murderous idea during my relaxation session in yoga class. 🙂

  6. Helen Jones says:

    Oh, this is a good one! (though your markets always are) 🙂 I like the fact that it’s short, though – makes me think I might have a chance at finishing an entry before the deadline haha

  7. I was about to enter my latest 100 word story that I had written for my Writers’ group meeting next week but saw the competition is only open to UK residents. For anyone thinking that “it’s only 100 words that’s easy” think again. A start, a middle, a finish, has to make sense, be engaging. You might get 99 words or 105 and adding just the right word or paring it down to make 100 can take almost as long as writing the story!
    Good luck to anyone entering the comp.

  8. Pingback: Markets For Writers – All About Writing and more

  9. Sacha Black says:

    I should do this. I will have to get thinking.

  10. Helen says:

    Thank you very much for this blog post Esther. Have done an entry. Would not have known about the comp but for your post.

  11. Helen says:

    These 100-word stories are addictive. I sent more than one in the end. Interested to see today’s twitter post showing a photo of the Reader’s Digest team narrowing down the shortlist (to be announced next week). Don’t often get to see the judges at work. Thank you again for your blog post alerting me to this comp, Esther. It was great fun to participate whatever the result.

Leave a Reply

