Guest Writer Spot

Yes, I know it’s Saturday and I don’t usually post on Saturday, but my feet didn’t touch the ground yesterday. So my Guest Writer Spot is slightly delayed. Apologies. 

If you’d like to appear in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

This week, it’s my pleasure to welcome Kat. I don’t know anything other than her name and the fact that she’s a very talented writer:

It’s Getting Out of Control

 

It’s getting out of control, the need to flee.
The wanderlust taking a hold on me.
The yearning to escape, the yearning to explore,
God, there’s got to be something more.
Trapped and unable to move,
Knowing deep down I have something to prove.
The burning within my chest,
Too many emotions left unexpressed.
 
It’s getting out of control, the need to scream,
Tears falling in unsteady streams.
It keeps on building, threatening to explode,
Every smile on my face seeming borrowed.
The light that grows dimmer, the one in my eyes,
The one place that betrays my disguise.
Nothing else shows what’s within,
Impatiently waiting for my life to begin.
 
It’s getting out of control, all the endless questions,
Trying so hard to squeeze out my confessions.
There is no rightful answer, I don’t know how I feel,
But a smile on my face will undoubtedly seal the deal.
Asking if I’m okay, the question never expired,
My mind screaming no, and my mouth saying I’m tired.
When-you-become-a-writer-your
This entry was posted in Guest Writer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

