I Need You – Again!

Competition Time!

Last week I set a mini-competition within a mini-competition! Lots of you took part in my recent flash fiction competition where I set the theme of ‘The Discovery’.  The results can be read here, if you missed them.

So I’m now looking at running my next mini-competition, but I’m not quite sure of the theme to set. So, that’s where you come in. What theme would you like to write about? I’ve already had some excellent suggestions. Thank you. If you have any more, please leave your ideas in the comments box or e-mail me: esthernewton@virginmedia.com.

The one I choose as the theme of my next mini-competition wins £10 and a copy of my book of short stories. 

You have until 24th December. Come on, give it a go!

***

roth

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to I Need You – Again!

  1. Bharul chhatbar says:

    ANCESTORS

  2. Simon says:

    I think I already made a suggestion. But if you want another how about Phoenix?

  3. Sacha Black says:

    Mind worms and parasites.
    The dinosaur that never died.

    You can tell I’m in a good mood today. Not.

  4. Sacha Black says:

    Prison or imprisoned

    The slave.

    Okay, I’ll stop.

  5. Sacha Black says:

    What about picking your fave film title and having it as the story title but you have to write a new story?

  6. How about : ‘things that you can’t see’ – ‘Gossip from the queue in the post office’ – ‘what happened when the clock struck thirteen’?

  7. I know I’m rubbish at these competition things but I really feel I should try one soon

  8. Sarah says:

    What about an alternate reality theme? Like the film Sliding Doors? 🙂

  9. Sarah says:

    Or some other kind of Sci-Fi thing? Maybe someone accidentally walks through a gateway and ends up on another planet? Or they are in the same place but it’s slightly different and there is some kind of problem that they have to solve in order to get back to their own reality. 🙂 Can you tell that I’m a Sci-Fi fan? 😉

  10. Sarah says:

    Maybe an historical fiction theme? A puzzle to solve in the Victorian era? Or at sea on one of those old fashioned type boats that Sinbad used. 🙂

  11. A. E. Robson says:

    Discovery of a new land.

  12. wagabi12 says:

    How about Shrewd Women?

  13. Sarah says:

    How about a ‘rags to riches,’ or vice versa, story? As everyone loves those. 🙂

  14. Sarah says:

    I think that we have probably overwhelmed you with all of our suggestions! 😀

  15. Sarah says:

    An old fashioned horror story – a house in the woods, with no phone line etc. 🙂

  16. Sarah says:

    As I grew up in the 70’s/80’s, how about a retro themed story? 🙂

  17. Sarah says:

    As it’s nearly Christmas, how about a theme of The Present? 🙂

  18. Rajiv says:

    Telling ya!

    1. Have the story start with… “If, on a winter’s night, a traveller…..”
    or.
    2. a fantasy on Loki and Thor exchanging identities for a week

  19. Rajiv says:

    Or…… something funny like – ‘Bertie Wooster’s marriage’

  20. In the spirit of Christmas – gluttony?

  21. I don’t know where my post went but I suggested gluttony

Leave a Reply

