I Need You!

Competition Time!

Thank you to all of you who took part in the first of my mini-competitions. The results can be read here, if you missed them.

I’m now looking at running my next mini-competition, but I’m not quite sure of the theme to set. So, that’s where you come in. What theme would you like to write about? Please leave your ideas in the comments box or e-mail me: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. The one I choose as the theme of my next mini-competition wins £10 and a copy of my book of short stories. 

You have until 24th December. So, what you waiting for? Let’s get those ideas coming!

***

stephen-king-books-are-the-perfect

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to I Need You!

  1. TanGental says:

    What about ‘Generations?’ I love to look at the way we are the same as or different from previous generations.

  2. AJ.Dixon says:

    How about “Change”? That could be quite apt, considering the recent shifts in the world as we know it, and it could lead to some interesting interpretations.

  3. Sacha Black says:

    Okay, deep breath.

    Secrets and lies.
    Memories.
    Betrayal.
    The scarf.
    Opposites.
    The incident.
    Reunited.
    The thing you couldn’t tell anyone.
    The day you found (blank) in your mums bedroom. (This is totes my fave!)
    Disappearing.
    The girl with the green eyes.
    The cloud.
    Three.

    Okay. I may or may not be done! 😂 But now I’m off to do some work!

  4. Jason Moody says:

    As Christmas approaches, were bombarded by adverts for beautiful things we neither need, nor want.

    How about ‘greed’?

  5. Jason Moody says:

    Yearning.
    Jealousy.
    Regret.

  6. Rajiv says:

    I know… A winter…
    Have a competition, where the stories start with those classic lines:

    “If, on a winter’s night, a traveller…..”

  7. Rajiv says:

    I know… It is winter…
    Have a competition, where the stories start with those classic lines:

    “If, on a winter’s night, a traveller…..”

  8. EDC Writing says:

    Indifference … as a theme not your blog!

  9. Simon says:

    What about new beginnings or something like it?

  10. Helen says:

    Themes? How about something like…

    Frozen (like discovery it has lots of different aspects and is appropriate to the months that like ahead)

    Resolution (also multi-faceted)

    Connection (can pull in Valentine’s themes without being too narrow)

    Regeneration

    Probably belies my ski fi interests. But would give scope for others to tackle themes in very different manner.

    • esthernewton says:

      Yes, each one certainly would. Thanks very much, Helen 🙂

      • Helen says:

        It’s funny, but what I want to write seems to change depending on the time of day. This morning the themes I sent you last night seem cold and, after a night of colourful dreams, I have in mind the following:

        Colour

        Kaleidoscope

        Culture (again both in arts sense and petri dish)

        Enchantment

        Dreams

      • esthernewton says:

        It’s funny what difference a day makes. I like the idea of kaleidoscope 🙂

  11. A. E. Robson says:

    Some wonderful suggestions, already. How about adding Western Heritage to the mix?

  12. Jason Moody says:

    Transformation. Not physical, but emotional.

  13. Jason Moody says:

    Begrudging acceptance. You could use Donald Trumps unbearable election win as a base for this.

Leave a Reply

