Shortlist Revealed…

Well, I can’t do much about the election result, but I can spread a little cheer among a few of you. A few weeks ago, I set my first mini-competition (a flash fiction story on the theme of The Discovery). I was overwhelmed by the number of entries I had and the quality of the writing. So I decided to first whittle it down to a shortlist…and here it is. Well done to all these talented writers and their wonderful stories. The winners will be chosen soon. Watch this space!

The Discovery Flash Fiction Competition Shortlist:

In no particular order:

Ditrie Sanchez               The Girl with the Stick

Melissa Lawrence         The Hostage

Lucy Mitchell                  The Secret

Glynis Smy                      The Discovery

Suzanne Forman           Space

Geoff Le Pard                  The Discovery

Helen Gaen                      Sea-Scanners and Processors: Input from Another Place 

Marjory Mallon              The Ghostly Jacket of Discovery          

Stephanie Buosi             Getting it Right    

Hugh Roberts                  The Discovery  

Jason Moody                    Always the Last to Know

Helen Jones                     The Discovery

Lynne Love                       Under the Skin

Sacha Black                      The Decision

***

sleep

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing competitions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Shortlist Revealed…

  1. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    Did you enter Esther Newton’s Flash Fiction competitions “The Discovery”? Here is the shortlist. The winners will be announced soon!
    Thank you, Esther!

  2. Simon says:

    Damn… I missed this! Will these all be available to read?

  3. EDC Writing says:

    Congratulations to all on the short list … I do not envy Esther the challenge of selecting her winners. Good luck!

  4. Helen says:

    I wish I could forget things while asleep… I have lucid dreams which can be more exhausting than being awake. Also I sometimes think I have woken up, when I am still dreaming, which can be very confusing. (Oh the relief when I realise I haven’t actually done x and it was all a dream…)

    Good luck to all on the short-list. Looks like you are going to be very busy Esther.

    I’m going to rewrite all my rejects before considering whether to submit elsewhere. There do seem to be a lot of flash fiction comps this month and next. I love the inspiration your competitions always provide to get writing.

    Your prompt announcement of a short-list is very helpful. Thank you.

  5. Helen Jones says:

    Thanks so much for shortlisting my story, Esther! This has made me feel better, too 🙂

  6. Helen Jones says:

    Reblogged this on Journey To Ambeth and commented:
    Well, this has cheered me up a bit – I’ve been shortlisted in Esther Newton’s Flash Fiction competition! Thanks, Esther 🙂

  7. Jason Moody says:

    I made a shortlist!? Thanks, Esther! Whatever happens now, this is a massive shot of confidence for me. I’m so happy. Seriously.

    Well done to all that made the list. I look forward to hopefully reading your stories some day.

    #morethanchuffed

  8. Lynn Love says:

    Thank you Esther! Very chuffed to be one of the shortlisters very cheerful news. Good luck to everyone 🙂

  9. Lynn Love says:

    Reblogged this on Word Shamble and commented:
    Very pleased to be shortlisted for Esther Newton’s Flash Fiction competition. I may not win, but it’s great to be part of the whittling process!

  10. My heartiest congratulations to all who have been shortlisted. I had submitted mine at the nth hour and though slightly disappointed at not making the cut. The flip side is that thanks to Esther and her inspiring flash fiction competition, I too, having been freshly bitten by the comp bug have now decide to sit for more such comps every single month. So, thanks a lot to Esther and for all her efforts.

  11. Thank you for the shortlist, Esther. This has cheered me up immensely. I’m excited to read all of these stories now! Suzanne

  12. Glynis Smy says:

    Thank you. How lovely.

  13. Thank you so much. I really needed the good news. And congratulations to everyone who made the short list, and all the writers who were brave enough to conquer their fears and submit. *hugs to all*

  14. Sacha Black says:

    *jaw on the floor*

    Genuinely gobsmacked. What a lovely honour and a confidence boost. Thank you so much ❤

  15. Nice to know I made the shortlist !!! Yippee…. 🙂

  16. Reblogged this on K Y R O S M A G I C A and commented:
    I made the shortlist of Esther Newton’s flash fiction competition!!! Nice to know, cheered me up a bit after all the Trump election misery..

  17. TanGental says:

    Well isn’t that just doozy. Me on the short list. Who’d have thought it?

  18. Delighted to discover I’m on the shortlist. Thanks! Really glad that I managed to get my act together and submit an entry with just 5 hours to spare! Good luck to all the other shortlisted writers.

  19. Rajiv says:

    Well, well, congratulations to them!

  20. Wow! I’m still in shock at seeing my name up there, Esther. Thank you so much.

    Many congratulations to everyone on that list and a big thank you from all of us for organising these competitions, Esther.

  21. Pingback: And The Winners Are… | esthernewtonblog

  22. Pingback: What I’m Writing – Ditrie Marie Bowie

Leave a Reply

