Writing Competition

As promised, here is the first in my new series of mini-writing competitions.

Prizes:

1st: Β£20 plus a copy of my book of short stories, The Siege

Two runners-up: A copy of my book of short stories

All three stories will be published on my blog

Entry fee: FREE

Entries are accepted from all corners of the globe

Writing prompt: Entries of up to 500 words, excluding the title, are required on the following theme: The discovery

Please post your entries below in the comments box, or e-mail them to: esthernewton@virginmedia.com

Closing date: 31st October 2016

***

friends

 

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing competitions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Writing Competition

  1. That is awesome!

    Can you elaborate on The Discovery. Like it can be a discovery of anything?

  2. EDC Writing says:

    Drawn to stepping back into my past life for this … hmmm! Thanks for keeping us stimulated with your prompts … and now prizes too! Have a good weekend Esther. Cheers Eric.

  3. You know I’m rubbish at entering competitions but reading your posts always makes me wish I wasn’t. I always feel like I’ve let you down a bit and I don’t like to do that but “Life pressures” eh. They can make pitiless demands on your time

  4. Rajiv says:

    Sounds like fun!!

  5. Pingback: The Discovery – ladyleemanila

  6. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    As promised, Esther Newton has released a new mini writing competition. Enjoy!
    Thank you, Esther!

  7. Pingback: 30 Writing Competitions With Cash Prizes | Sacha Black

  8. Sacha Black says:

    I have an idea – I’m terrible at anything over 100 words, but If I can, I’ll give this a go πŸ˜€

  9. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Challenge For Keith, For Rajiv And For… | esthernewtonblog

  10. Pingback: Writing Competition β€” esthernewtonblog | S C Richmond

  11. Pingback: Writing Competition β€” esthernewtonblog – The Other Writer

  12. Hi Esther, please find my entry below.

    Sorry if it ruins your day, that’s just how I write.

    https://definitelysane.wordpress.com/2016/10/23/the-discovery/

    Thanks for the opportunity.

    DS

  13. A. E. Robson says:

    The imagination runs wild with this prompt. What fun just before Hallowe’en.

    http://www.annedallrobson.com/challenges/the-discovery

  14. Pingback: Microfiction: Conquest – Jane Dougherty Writes

  15. I saw this prompt in Sacha Black’s newsletter, and never one to pass up a prompt, I’ve had a go. Thanks for the nudge πŸ™‚
    https://janedougherty.wordpress.com/2016/10/28/microfiction-conquest/

  16. sahirmunjral says:

    I am a 10 year old boy living in India. I have just recently started to blog and I write short stories. Just like you, I too have come up with my own characters like Jack, Dylan and Dink. I plan to make a series of some of my stories. You can read my stories at https://shortstories4kids.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

