Monday Motivations

If you’re feeling sluggish after the weekend and need a little help to unlock your writing brain, here’s a challenge for you:

Write a flash fiction piece of between 50-250 words with the following line in it somewhere:

He didn’t want to turn around; he knew just what he’d see and he could face anything but that.

Here is your challenge from last week:

Write a flash fiction piece of between 50-300 words with the following two lines in it somewhere:

Well, that was certainly fun. And very unexpected.  

You sent in some super reads:

Melissa Barker-Simpson couldn’t resist this one:

“Well, that was certainly fun. And very unexpected.”

Sophia snorted out a laugh. “Unexpected? You were asking for it. And you knew what would happen if you pushed me.” She reached out to catch a dollop of buttercream as it slid a sugary path down his cheek. Sucking the treat into her mouth she surveyed the area.Total and utter carnage surrounded them. It would take hours to clean up the food.

When her eyes flicked back to Gareth she found his gaze on her. The laughter erupted again until they were squirming on the ground like children. A glazed cherry that was attached to a chunk of cake dropped from his nose and landed on her shoulder with a soft plop. Damn him, but he always managed to have the last laugh.

Rajiv Chopra continues his Mary Jane series and says I only have myself to blame for this week’s offering!:

“Well, that was certainly fun. And very unexpected.”

The two of them lay there in the bed together, their sweat mingling, dusky smells emanating from their recent, amorous activities.

“I loved it when Spidey saw us kissing,” sighed Mary Jane. Harley’s smile was wide, and she purred and stroked Mary Jane’s cheek.

“The Joke is on my man,” she whispered. “What would I have given to see the look on his face, when he opened The Black Envelope.”

“And, to think, we gave each of them identical, Black Envelopes. We really are wicked! So, what shall we do now?” she asked, looking suggestively at Harley Quinn.

Silence followed, broken only by a few sighs.

Later that evening, a car pulled out of Gotham, and the two of them raced off into a romantic sunset. Life was theirs for the taking. There was no man to answer to, no triangle or quadrangle to get messed up in, or no mad smile to manage. They were free, and their car raced off into the distant horizon, with the two women, screaming in joy. They gave their new found freedom and love full throttle, and soon all that was left was the dust of the city as it settled down for the night.

Night, however, found four men sitting around a table, the shadows on their grim faces, the table lit solely by the quintessential lamp.

The Band of Forsaken Brothers, is what they called themselves, initially. Then, they decided that this was too dramatic a name. The League of The Black Envelope was better. This too, was not good enough.

And then, they hit upon a name. The Band of Black and Red (In deference to The Crazy One’s red mouth, and Spidey’s red costume).

They were ready for the chase!

Andy Beddy joins us for the first time with a great story:

It happened so unexpectedly I nearly spilt my latte over my wife. The middle aged man sitting next to me stood up suddenly and began singing “silent night”.

At the same time the 3 teenagers by the escalators threw off their hoodies and began to sing along in perfect harmony. Then the balcony of the upper mall erupted with what seemed like hundreds of voices all singing along with the group down here with us.
The shopping mall’s lights began to dim and the Christmas tree lights cast a warming glow over the whole shopping mall.

“What’s happening?” I whispered. I looked at Bev and I could see the grin on my wife’s face as she, too, stood up and joined in with the choir. It was then that the penny dropped, this was why she had been so slow doing the shopping today. She knew what was happening because this was the choir from her church, the one I had only recently started going to, which is why I didn’t recognise all the faces. This was a “flash mob”.

I couldn’t help, it. Standing next to my wife I joined in, squeezing her hand with joy.
All too soon it was over. The lights came back on in the mall and the hoodies were back on the teenager’s heads. Life resumed as if nothing had happened.

I looked at my wife. “Well, that was certainly fun. And very unexpected,” I said.

“Yes dear, it was.” She grinned, “Shall we go home?”

***

cummings_it-takes-courage1

 

 

 

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. Rajiv says:

    Hmm… Now, you have put me in a bind!

  2. Rajiv says:

    Let me see what twist I bring in….

    • esthernewton says:

      I look forward to seeing what you come up 🙂

      • Rajiv says:

        Oh, I have something for you… It worked in my brain last night. This morning, I dropped my daughter to college a bit early. On the way to my mom’s house, I stopped at a South Indian restaurant for an upma and a coffee, and wrote it out..

        I wonder what I would have written with some beer or rum under mybelt..

      • esthernewton says:

        ha, ha! I’d have loved to have seen that!

      • Rajiv says:

        A Wee Twist in the tale… Coffee Fumes! No rum yet!

      • Rajiv says:

        Oops. Here it is… I wonder when I will bring this little saga to a close!

        “As the car sped away into the distance, a lone figure sat atop a tower, looking on at the vanishing tail lights, a grim expression on his face. They had gone, and he would have to start all over again. It had been a long, successful partnership as lovers, and as partners in crime. But now, it was over, and he needed a new partner. She could be the one, he thought, but he had to be sure. He always had to be sure, even when he was certain.

        He sat there and laughed silently, and then a bit more, his body shaking with laughter.

        Outwardly, he was a successful businessman. There was another persona that he often donned, with some rare degree of success – a crime fighter. In the tradition of the old, aging superheroes, he gave himself a name. The Dark Knight, is what they had called him.

        Yes, he loved that name. The Dark Knight, the Batman. In reality, all he had done, was to clear the city of criminals, so that Harley Quinn and he could rake in the millions, and continue their career in crime. That sniveling Joker was just their pawn.

        That’s when he heard her laugh. He didn’t want to turn around; he knew just what he’d see and he could face anything but that.

        Her face.

        Poison Ivy stood behind him, laughing as she twined her body around him. “It’s our turn now”, she said, licking his neck.

        “”Its

      • esthernewton says:

        Wow! Super stuff, Rajiv. A very clever take on the prompt to link it to your series 🙂

      • Rajiv says:

        Thanks! Now, I will need rum to see how it goes from here! I have to ensure that it does not become cheesy

  3. Simon says:

    Nice stories Esther, if u can wrap my brain round it long enough I’ll try and throe one together! 😃

  4. Pingback: Halloween Elections (Flash Fiction) | Simplicity Lane

  5. Steve says:

    Thanks for the motivation! I just posted my response, Halloween Elections, on Simplicity Lane.
    https://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/halloween-elections-flash-fiction/

  6. Pingback: Monday motivations -The Goragoth | Planet Simon

  7. Pingback: Facing the Future #prompt #Mondaymotivations | TanGental

Leave a Reply

