Guest Writer Spot

If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

This week’s guest writer loves penning rhyming poems. It’s my pleasure to introduce Carmen Garrott, with her poem on music. This is what she has to say about herself:

‘I’m a stay-at-home-mum of four children, who has just started to write poetry. I’m thinking about taking a writing course and working on some short stories. I’m a little nervous as this is the piece of work I’ve sent out! I hope you all like it!’

Music

By

Carmen Garrott

I’d love to be able to sing,

To produce notes of a wondrous ring,

Instead I make a terrible din,

Alas, I am no singer.

 

I’d love to play the piano,

To tickle those keys with great gusto,

Instead the piano sighs with woe,

Alas, I am no pianist.

 

I’d love to play the trombone,

To be applauded as I play alone,

Instead the audience groans,

Alas, I am no trombonist.

 

I’d love to conduct with a baton,

To stand there with tail-coat on,

Instead, I get the tempo all wrong,

Alas, I am no conductor.

***

famous_american_author_art_lettering_quote_wall_decal_16x6-_1434a78c

This entry was posted in Guest Writer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. patgarcia says:

    Hi Carmen,
    Your poem is a lovely first trial, and I congratulate you for being courageous and stepping out there. You can learn whatever skills you need to be one of the best poets ever. It’s up to you. Hard work comes with any art that touches people’s heart. So, realize your dream and step out there because I enjoyed reading your poem.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Hello My Dear Esther,
    I love the quote from Mark Twain. It is so true.
    Have a great weekend.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia,

  2. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    Authors, share your writing as a guest author on Esther Newton’s site!

  3. mihrank says:

    Hi Carmen – your words touched me – I felt I was playing your words on the piano…

  4. Rick Amitin says:

    It’s true, polished art has a recognizable feel and sound. But, for me, there’s an attraction to a fresh and emerging voice. I hear the polite announcement from the heart, I’m coming. I’ll be there soon. Please wait for me. I will, Carmen. We all will.

  5. Simon says:

    I would love to but for the time… maybe later when the rain starts falling again?

  6. curvylou says:

    Heartfelt. Love the structure; no happy ending, but piquant, seeking notes. Way to go, Carmen.

Leave a Reply

