Guest Writer Slot

If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

This week’s guest writer is Suzy Sharman. Here’s a little bit about her, in her own words:

“I’ve written three novels, all unpublished, but I’ve just started writing short stories. I love how tight the writing has to be and how you can gradually build the story before revealing all. This is the shortest story I’ve written. I hope you enjoy it. I thought I’d go for the holiday theme as my children have just broken up for the summer.”

Holiday Heaven

By

Suzy Sharman

 

“Where do you fancy going on holiday this year then, Jason?”

“I want to go on an adventure holiday. I want to go canoeing, white water rafting, rock climbing, swimming and abseiling. What about you, Dad?”

“”I think I’d like to go to Spain, or to Greece. Anywhere with a beach, hot sunshine and a bar.”

“Or what about Florida? They’ve got beaches there, it’s always hot and there’re tons and tons of bars and loads of adventure stuff for me to do, too. That would be perfect, wouldn’t it, Dad?”

“Yes. Perfect. I’ll have a word with your mother.”

“I suppose you have to, don’t you, Dad?”

“Yes, ‘fraid so.”

“Then I suppose it’s Mrs Grott’s guest house again, isn’t it? The closest I’ll get to an adventure is the leaky shower, dodgy bed and shaky scaffolding.”

“Yes, looks like it, son. And the nearest I’ll get to a beach is the sand, which always settles in the bottom of her bath and I think the last time hot sunshine went anywhere near Mrs Grott’s guest house was 1906. She doesn’t believe in stocking any alcohol, either.”

“She’s a bit of a dragon, too, isn’t she, Dad?”

“You shouldn’t talk about her that way. But I can’t stand the woman, either, Jason. Can’t stand her. But she is your mother’s sister.”

“Maybe it’ll be Florida next year, eh Dad?”

“Maybe, Jason. Yes, maybe next year.”

***

Funny-Inspirational-Quote-2

 

This entry was posted in Guest Writer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Guest Writer Slot

  1. DrEMiller says:

    Reblogged this on Write of Passage and commented:
    Want to share your writing a bit more widely? Check out this site to see if you can be a guest writer.

  2. patgarcia says:

    Hi Suzy,
    I love your story. It is a combination of humor and profound communication between a father and son who refuse to give up hoping. Excellent job.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Hi Esther,
    Thank you. You have presented us with another excellent writer.
    Have a nice weekend.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

  3. Jane Risdon says:

    Loved reading this and I cannot wait to read more of her stories. Thanks so much Esther for hosting Suzy. Short story and flash fiction writing really does make you stop and think about every word used and how it will have the most impact. I love writing them too, though novel writing has its challenges too. Much success. Jane.

Leave a Reply

