Guest Writer Spot

This week, I’d like to welcome new writer, Maria Jenkins to my Guest Writer Spot. Before you read her heart-wrenching poem, here’s a little bit about her, in her own words:

“I’ve been writing stories and poems since I was a little girl. English was my favourite subject at school, but when I left and started work I found I had little time for writing. It quickly fell by the wayside – until I fell off my bike and hurt my leg. I had to take a few weeks off work to recover and started writing poetry. I’m determined I’m going to write something at least once a week”. 

The Lovers

By

Maria Jenkins

 

The tide is turning,

Reaching out, burning

Her, grasping, yearning

For her as its prize.

 

Yesterday she laid in the arms of her beau,

Fingers entwined, kisses and gentle caress,

Hearts afire, bursting with love’s melodious touch,

At peace with the world, ignoring outsiders.

 

Today, so different as dawn revealed first light,

Fiery autumn slipped into bitter winter,

The window beckoned, lighting up her sweet face,

Shivering she watched, a tear fell and she knew.

 

The tide is turning,

Reaching out, burning

Her, grasping, yearning

For her as its prize.

 

She refused them, clinging to her lover’s side,

But father, mother and brother ruled her world,

Her lover died, plucked and pummeled ‘til no more,

Tossed into the ocean, tumbling deeper down.

 

Her long lashes closed, she swayed joining the sea,

Water washed over, wrenching life away,

She parried, pulling towards void existence,

Remembering, always remembering him.

 

The tide is turning,

Reaching out, burning

Her, grasping, yearning

For her as its prize.

 

Too late, the sea surged, a victorious roar,

Waves danced, mightier with each crashing decent,

Gaining and grabbing man’s glorious trophy,

To envelop and swallow her with one bite.

 

Her eyes stared forwards, igniting at his sight,

Body and brain closed down, but onwards she flew,

Reunited with her love, souls souring high,

Joining moon, stars and magical life beyond.

 

The tide has turned,

Reached out, burnt

Her, grabbed, yearned,

It has her for its prize.

***

 If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

***

Anne Lamott

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Guest Writer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. patgarcia says:

    Hello Maria,

    I like your poem. The rhythm of the story is reinforced by the repetition of the verse:

    The tide is turning,
    Reaching out, burning
    Her, grasping, yearning
    For her as its prize.

    And it embraces an ending as you changed the verb tense in the last verse of this repetition.
    The sadness comes through, the yearning to join her lover, and the decision to reunite with him in the afterlife.

    Beautifully written.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    P.S. Esther, thank you for presenting Maria. I wanted to like this poem also but your like button was missing. I’ll try again later.
    Have a nice weekend.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

