My Weekly Writing Challenge

I have an apology to make – I’d forgotten that I’m taking Mother to see Romeo and Juliet tonight, so My Weekly Writing Challenge is going to be a rollover (with a twist! See below). I’ll publish all the wonderful entries that you’ve been sending in this week on my blog next Thursday, together with any more you’d like to send in. Here’s a reminder of the options:

OPTION ONE: Write a six-word story with the word DISASTER in it somewhere.

OPTION TWO: Write a poem or limerick on the theme of WORK.

OPTION THREE: Your word is FREEDOM. What meaning does this hold for you? You can write anything on it, be it a poem, story, non-fiction piece; anything goes.

As I mentioned it’s a rollover with a twist, so I’m going to add in an extra option (as you’ve clearly been enjoying the six-word story, I’ve come up with another):

OPTION FOUR: Write a six-word story with the word NINCOMPOOP in it somewhere.

***

Dont-Change-So-People-Inspirational-Life-Quotes

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Le Fragi says:

    I shall see if I can concoct some words into a pattern of sentences for some of these. Have been busy with work and things and seem to have lost a few of the followees that ‘were’ on my list. Strange old WP. Take care. G:)

  2. patgarcia says:

    Enjoy Romeo and Juliet.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

  3. Steve says:

    The nincompoop autocorrect-ed ‘Esther’; ‘jester’ disaster. πŸ™‚

  4. Disaster prevention: stay calm and smile!

  5. Timbrofil says:

    Disaster strikes when unvoiced birds survive.

  6. Have a lovely night out with your mum at Romeo and Juliet. πŸ™‚

  7. Sarah says:

    Nincompoop had fun playing word games. πŸ˜€

  8. Le Fragi says:

    6-word disaster movie story

    “The Alabaster-Plaster Disaster Movie – Soon!”

    G:)

  9. Le Fragi says:

    The World Today 6-word Story.

    One disaster after another; ever faster.

    G:(

  10. Sacha Black says:

    Love that quote. corr nincompoop! That’s a hard one!

  11. Rajiv says:

    Hi Esther.

    I have a Reprise, for Work. I was wonderng if i should bung it in.
    Meanwhile, here is one for Nincompoop.

    “nincompoop! You voted both, Trump and Clinton!”

  12. Rajiv Chopra says:

    I have done this reprise of the Mongrel Verse that I wrote last week. In this version, I go into the subconscious and sometimes toxic relationship between workers/subordinates and managers/leaders/masters

    This version has alternating (except at the end) verses by the leaders and the workers.

    Here goes.

    Master

    Work, work, you little shit, work; Work on and on, and do not shirk. You need to work, and make me rich; Don’t argue either, you little bitch.

    Worker-Slave

    You make me work, so you can fly; With lots of money, and things to buy. Yet, you cut my pay – you cry and tell me, Profits are down, and I must believe thee.

    Master

    I am your Lord, you are my slave; It’s my generosity that you must crave. To be inspired, learn from the ants; And realise it is I, who wears the pants.

    Worker-Slave

    I hear your words, from your honeyed mouth; We don’t believe you. Can you hear us shout? Behind glass doors, you wine and dine; Yet don’t realise that we can dim your shine.

    We know you well, you will exploit us; Then o’er our bodies, you will roll a bus. But, we can strike and raise our voice, Will that leave you, with too much choice?

    Master

    You need to work, to make me rich; And don’t complain, you little snitch. The government’s mine, you little dork; So, work and work, little shit, work.

Leave a Reply

