Monday Motivations

As I mentioned last week, as I’m away, I’m extending my two short story competitions’ closing date to Sunday 5th June so there’s still time to enter! To find out more, take a look at my competition page.

I don’t know about you, but I often get my ideas when I’m away on holiday; ideas come from all sorts of corners, from people watching, to inspirational and beautiful scenes, to being taken back in time with a place’s history and culture. Sometimes a single word is enough to get the ideas coming. Here’s an idea for a flash fiction piece which grew from the word ‘forest’:

When Will it End?

Branches stab at me, fingers uncoiling, reaching out. I push past them, panting.

Voices fill the air, guttural, gathering momentum. Someone sees me; I shiver. Lights fill the forest, footsteps thunder, coming closer. Shouts shoot through me; I scream. Chanting commences, wild eyes are everywhere.

“We have the witch!”

Many hands claim me, shoving me, thrusting me forwards to my fate.

Sobs catch in my throat. I am no witch, but at least it will end.

***

george-r-r-martin-quotes-9753

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. Helen Jones says:

    Have a lovely holiday, Esther! 🙂

Leave a Reply

