Monday Motivations – Breaking News!

Well, I suppose it is breaking news…but it’s not that exciting, I’m afraid. As many of you know (if you don’t, why not? I mean, it’s not as if I haven’t plugged it enough! Anyway, I digress…) I’m holding two short story competitions (with fabulous prizes). The closing date is due to be 31st May, but as I’m going to be away for a few days then, I’m extending it until Sunday 5th June. 

So if you’re struggling for that story idea and don’t think you’ll have it finished by the end of May, you have a few more days to finish your masterpiece. Or if you’ve already entered, have another go!

I couldn’t get my creative mind working this morning, so I gave myself a theme. This often helps to get the ideas coming. My theme was war. Here’s my story:

Casualties of War

His small body jerked, the bullet finding its home in the centre of his heart. His mother rushed to him, weeping and wailing, welded to his side.

The soldier hovered above her, pointing his gun, taking aim.

 She forced herself away from her beloved boy, turned to face his killer. “Do it!” she sobbed. “Let me join my son.”

The soldier lowered his weapon, orders barking in his ear. He shook his head. Ran away, his feet squelching in the mud.  

She sat there awhile, her anguished cries merging with many more. A childless mother. Just one of many. In just another day of war.

***

 images

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing competitions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Motivations – Breaking News!

  1. AJ.Dixon says:

    It was fairly exciting! 😄 Love the story, it was awful and gritty in so few words.
    Also, you’ve said that the deadline will be extended to the 5th of May…sorry to point it out!

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m glad that you have extended the deadline as I’m only half way through my story and I didn’t want to rush it. 🙂 Enjoy your holiday! I hope that you are going somewhere nice. 🙂

  3. Jason Moody says:

    That clears my birthday week for eating cake, and not cramming! Phew.

Leave a Reply

