Monday Motivations

It’s not long until the closing date of my two short story competitions. You have until 31st May to get your entries in. To find out more about them, see my competition page. One of the competitions is for a flash fiction story of up to 100 words. You can write a chilling story to bring me out in goose bumps, a beautiful love story, or you could go for a story to make me laugh.  Here’s one of mine for you:

The Killing

The knife plunges in. Blood oozes out, splashing me, cascading down. Again I stab, deeper this time. Unyielding, I go on. My eyes are alive, opening wide.

I stop. What have I done?

I look around me and smile; I sigh in relief, wiping my sweat-soaked forehead. Just a day-dream. Then the nagging starts up again, the whine of the whinging voice. A flash of silver catches my eye. A knife. No. I can’t. I won’t.

But sometimes my mother-in-law makes me feel that way.

 ***

mark-haddon-quotes-12983

 

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. Ali Isaac says:

    Haha! What woman doesn’t know that feeling???

  2. Viki Allerston says:

    Brilliant! I felt that way so often! Then the guilt slipped in – until the next time. Glad I wasn’t alone.

  3. Ha ha.. Mother in laws… Great material for writing prompts.

  4. Jason Moody says:

    Very good, Esther. Doesn’t apply to mine, though! 😜

Leave a Reply

