Guest Writer Spot

It’s Friday and time for my guest slot. If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

This week’s guest writer, Sylvie Johnston, is new to poetry. Here’s a little bit about her in her own words:

“I am a thirty-three year-old mother of three. I used to work for my local council but I now stay at home with the children. I’ve always loved writing – stories in particular so I took a course. I’ve had some stories published and now felt like trying something different. Here’s my first attempt!”

A New Life

By

Sylvie Johnston

Agony antagonizing

Her,

Pulsating pain pushing

Her,

Woeful wails wrestle within

Her.

She screams, sweat seeps, soaking

Her,

Tears tumble, terror tortures

Her,

Growing grin grips

Her.

Baby born

Hers.

              *** 

Excellent Thoughts on Death

This entry was posted in Guest Writer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. Wildersoul says:

    So totally describes the creative process…. distinctly maternal and obstetric…

  2. Jason Moody says:

    Can I have a go at this? I feel a bit silly for asking, but asking I am.

    • esthernewton says:

      Hi Jason, don’t feel silly. I’d love you to be my guest writer! So please send in something – a story or poem, together with a little bit about yourself and your writing :-))

  3. Jane Risdon says:

    Wow enjoyed this not end. Thanks Sylvie and thanks Esther – wonderful. I may even have a go myself. 🙂 xx

    • esthernewton says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment. It’ll mean a lot to Sylvie. Do let me know if you’d like to be my guest. I’d love to feature you.

      • Jane Risdon says:

        I shall let you know as soon as I can get my head around my schedule Esther, at the moment I am still doing my Forensic Psychology course and am at sixes and sevens. I’d love to – thanks so much. I’ll be in touch. Enjoy your week. Yes do let Sylvie know, I loved it. 🙂

      • esthernewton says:

        Thanks, Jane. Your course sounds very interesting!

      • Jane Risdon says:

        My third Forensic Science and anthropology course. I am making sure (lol) I am accurate when writing crime scenes and investigations etc. So I have completed courses to do with Identification of unknown remains in a shallow grave through to the conviction of a suspect. Criminal Justice and Forensic Science (miscarriages of Justice) and DNA Fingerprinting technologies. The latest is Forensic Psychology: Witness Investigations (interviewing techniques )to get at the truth of what witnesses actually witness given memory and time problems….very interesting. 🙂

      • esthernewton says:

        Wow! How fascinating 🙂

      • Jane Risdon says:

        It is but the weekly tests are a bit scary lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

