My Weekly Writing Challenge

I hope you’ve all had a good week. Here’s my latest challenge for you:

Option one: Write a limerick with the word KNIT in it somewhere

Option two: Write a poem on the theme of SUNSHINE

Option three: Write a twenty-word story using all of the following words: BEAUTY, DRUNK, CRACKERS, CHEESE, LADDER and PIQUANT

Last week option one was to write a limerick with the word CLOWN featuring in it somewhere. Here are the entertaining results:

Keith Channing treats us with five:

‘Clown’ is this week’s chosen word
Great for a smart-ass or nerd.
To compose a good rhyme
Will take far too much time
So I’ll just knock out something absurd.

Each clown wears his own special hat
Be it pointed or rounded or flat
It’s probably best
If it matches his vest
Else he’ll just look too much of a prat.

A clown often changes his act
After seeing his public react
His expression is quizzical
His comedy physical
Slapstick, as a matter of fact.

The smile of a clown hides his tears
As he stands up, each day, to his fears.
Is the public aware
That his aim’s not to scare,
But to pull out some laughs and some cheers.

It’s the laughter of kids keeps him going
Not the falling, the running, the throwing.
But the life of a clown
Can be turned upside-down
By the sadness that he’s banned from showing.

Option two asked you to write a poem about rain:

Jason Moody sent in a catchy poem:

Drip drip drip.
Oh the monotony
Nature’s great ruiner
But great for some botany

Expensive new wellies?
Go grab them, be quick
Join in the chorus
Drip drip drip.

Les Moriarty shares his lovely poem with us:

Rain/Reign

Rain, that water from the clouds

Pouring, drizzling, lashing, falling.

Akin to tears slowly dropping down the cheek

Of a loved one left behind.

Eyes well up, there is blurred vision

Love reign o’er me

Except it doesn’t, not at this time

Until through the gloom

A rainbow appears

Nature has worked its magic once more.

There is hope at the end of the rainbow

Through the rain I wander to find it

Rainbow’s end is my goal

I will persevere

To find my personal pot of gold

When I find it life will be different

Yes, life will be oh so different.

Life will be happy, settled and joyous.

 

Rain, that water from the clouds

Pouring, drizzling, lashing, falling.

Option three was for you to write a twenty-word story using all of the following words: KERFUFFLE, ORANGE, PRISON, DUNK, CINDERELLA and SWEAR. You really made me laugh with your entries:

Jason Moody sent in several cracking stories:

The kerfuffle over the orange dunk tank in the prison amused Cinderella.

“Funniest thing ever, I swear,” she said, giggling.

“Cinderella, swear?” said Mortimer.

He man handled the accuser and took him to the orange, prison dunk tank.

Kerfuffle indeed.

Neville liked to dunk orange creams. As prison warden a kerfuffle was common, but to hear Cinderella swear? Quite uncommon. 

Sacha Black sent in a belter:

“Fuck. Orange?” Cinderella asked.

“No swearing inmate. I don’t want a kerfuffle over this or I’ll dunk you in
Solitary.”

I love Rajiv Chopra‘s story:

“It was Cinderella who ate the orange, causing the kerfuffle! Dunk the hag in watermelon juice. Then, off to prison!”

***

 d76950bb99bdbc1652910f18311462e7

 

 

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Bumba says:

    She said write a poem with knit in it
    I couldn’t decifer the wit in it
    A limerick that’s clean
    Has never been seen
    and I ain’t nit picking bout knittin, maam

  2. EDC Writing says:

    Missed a challenge, must be crackers, maybe drunk, stuck up a ladder? Hard cheese beauty, next one tasty piquant even.

  3. I feel such a knit

    My Mum used to spend her days sitting
    Just watching the telly and knitting.
    She prayed for her sins
    With the click-clack of pins
    And that’s what she called baby-sitting!

    Some folk like to waste their time flitting
    While my days I pass mostly knitting.
    I get a bad itch
    When I see a dropped stitch,
    The whole business is quite unremitting.

    Three years I spent trying to knit
    A solitary garment to fit
    My ungrateful child
    Who’s totally wild;
    A thoroughly bad-tempered ****

    We bought a full half-ton of yarn
    To knit something the size of a barn
    For my auntie, who’s large;
    As big as a barge.
    Too much rice with her chile con carne!

    If you think that last rhyme was quite tenuous
    Here’s another, but this time more strenuous.
    Words you can rhyme with knit
    Include quit, spit and Brit;
    But they all give ideas disingenuous.

  4. Jason Moody says:

    “These camembert cheese crackers are wonderfully piquant,” said Sleeping Beauty.

    She was drunk.

    Her tights also had a ladder.

  5. Jason Moody says:

    The piquant cheese sat atop the ladder, drunk on beauty and the smell of crackers.

    She was a tad pretentious.

  6. Jason Moody says:

    You kiss my skin
    and my mind drifts away
    To places so far
    I’ll visit one day

    Early each morning
    You sparkle so bright
    and later each day
    You bid us goodnight

    You paint with your pallet
    Golds, yellows and red
    You gave us the rainbows
    that dazzle overhead.

    Your the subject of song
    And often a rhyme
    Some sci-fi films
    Some bad, some sublime

    The ancients worshipped you
    To them, you’re Devine
    But to me, you’re the Sun
    Please continue to shine

  7. Jason Moody says:

    Hi Esther.

    Thank you for your prompts! 🙂

  8. Jason Moody says:

    Crackers, piquant cheese and a drunk hostess.
    The party was a beauty.
    Jamie, ladder in her tights was passed out

  9. Jason Moody says:

    Climbing the ladder to eat his piquant cheese crackers, Geoff spied a drunk beauty in the park opposite the house.

  10. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Challenge – knit, sunshine, drunk – ladyleemanila

  11. Helen Jones says:

    Hi Esther, hope you’ve had a nice week 🙂
    Here’s my story:

    ‘Let us get drunk, my piquant beauty. We have crackers and cheese-‘
    ‘And a ladder?’
    ‘That’s for later, spicy one.’

    😀

  12. Hi Esther,

    Not sure if this is the way to contribute offerings to the page, but will give it a go.

    My limerick:

    With my needles I sat down to knit,
    A sweater to make me look fit,
    But the arms were too long
    And the body all wrong,
    So I ended up looking a twit!

    My 20 words story

    Beauty, eating her piquant cheese on crackers, awaited the… CRASH! She had told Beast never to climb a ladder drunk.

    Best wishes,

    Lynne Hallett

  13. Le Fragi says:

    Not My Knit Limerick #1

    This is not my Knit Limerick at all
    It is absolutely not like it in any way, shape or form
    In fact
    To use tact
    They are quite dissimilar in that my knit Limerick rhymes properly and follows the proper Limerick format.

    Knit Limerick #1 proper

    To knit is a wondrous thing
    When your needles go clickety-cling
    And pearl one you go
    To a pattern, you know
    And knitting compares to you in the Spring.

    G:)

  14. Le Fragi says:

    My Not a Knit Limerick
    aka Knot a Nit Haikool

    You can knot up a nit with a trick Limerick
    If he’s counting the lines just increase ’em
    If he’s looking for rhymes don’t include ’em
    If he’s looking for sense, make it 50 shades of dense
    The sense of ‘that’ will soon elude ‘im
    But most of all, make ‘im look a fool
    By calling it an ‘aikool’
    And tell ‘im they’re great
    He should right ’em at rate
    And then watch as he tries
    It’s like catching mince pies
    When you’re blindfolded and nobody throws ’em
    So, watch him struggle wiv
    Them words, the daft spiv…
    And then apologise (who’s the knit, now)
    As you read the splendid words wot he just writ
    And how.

    G:)

Leave a Reply

