Guest Writer Spot

Talented poet Gordon Simmonds has appeared in this slot a few times, with some beautiful, moving poems. If you haven’t read them please do: Everybody Dies, When I am Gone, Paschaendaele, Joe’s War  , The Piper in the Graveyard  and An Old Soldier’s Thoughts.

Many of you have commented how much you like his poetry so I’m delighted to announce that he’s published these poems and others in a book, ‘War and Remembrance: Poetry about war and injustice, its consequences, and remembrance of those affected‘. You can download it from Amazon.

Here’s a little bit about Gordon’s background and writing, in his own words:

“My name is Gordon Simmonds born and raised in Essex, England. I left school aged 15 and joined the British Army where I discovered early on that I was a good scholar but a bad soldier. I left the Army nine years later and became what I now call an industrial mercenary – in fact I’ve never had a proper job since, and have worked in, and travelled the Middle East as well as my adopted Lincolnshire.

“I would describe myself as a shy extrovert. If you see me on the street I’m likely to be wearing a cowboy hat and boots, or a Scottish kilt and playing the bagpipes. I love to race – either bikes or karts and I once had some talent as a fencer where my hard, aggressive style achieved some notable victories.

“As a writer and poet my work is severely limited by work and inclination. My first poem was broadcast on the BBC while I was still at school. My next poem wasn’t published until 34 years later.”

***

If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

***

Favim.com-17449

This entry was posted in Book Spotlight, Guest Writer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

