My Weekly Writing Challenge

It only seems like yesterday that I was setting last week’s writing challenge. I don’t know about you, but this week’s flown by. Still, at least it’s nearly the weekend. Here’s my new challenge for you:

Option one: Write a limerick with the word BREAD in it somewhere

Option two: Write a poem on the theme of BIRTHDAYS

Option three: Write a ten-word story using all of the following words: FATAL, CHEESE, FACEBOOK, LOGOLEPSY and PIGGESNYE

Last week option one was to write a limerick with the words SHED featuring in it somewhere. Here are the simply brilliant results:

Steve Walksy entered with a really clever limerick:

A shed can be exciting
A shanty so inviting
It’s but a shack
A wee cabin at that
Or an outhouse with lighting

And now it’s over to the wonderful Graeme Sandford:

Shed Limerick #1

There is a shed in a far off land
That is tall and wide and second-hand
But, it is old
Lets in the cold
And its permission was never even planned.

Shed Limerick #2

My shed has four walls and a floor
But, sadly it has nothing more
No contents that fill
No window or sill
And no roof, nor even a door.

Shed Limerick #3

This Limerick is about my shed
It’s started but not fini-
Shed

Shed Limerick #4

My shed is situated at the very North Pole
Where the bears are all white on the whole
But, I’m down in the mouth
The only way is south
And my shed has just breached its parole.

Shed Limerick #5

Shed loads of shed Limericks
But, made out of words not with sticks
Some silly, one short
And at the latest report
You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.

Jasdeep Kaur said she couldn’t resist this one. I’m glad she couldn’t:

“This is the question that I really dread,”
said Mr. Pumpkin jumping out of the bed,
staring at ginger
and the lady finger,
“how many pounds will I have to shed?”

Sarah Evans was tempted too:

A shed is a great place to be,
For a creative person like me,
As inside there is treasure,
Of yarn, and all measure,
Of fabric and ribbons, what glee! 😀

David Harrison enjoyed his brain work-out. His second one is especially good:

When Gregory had a fat head
He went for some peace in the shed
But the mice didn’t care
They squeaked everywhere
So he ran off and hurried to bed.
 
Poor Bertram was nagged by his wife
She was certainly trouble and strife
He rushed out of bed
Set up home in the shed
And longed to escape back to Fife!

Your second option was to write a poem on the theme of FOOD. I loved all the entries:

Graeme Sandford now turns his amazing talent to poetry:

Food Poem #1

Food is good;
But, if chewed whilst open-mouthed, it is rude.
It is! It’s not just my attitude,
Or a platitude (whatever one of those is- I’m sure you know)
And if not, it is with sincere gratitude that I allude to you, dude
As you sit there in the nude
Could we collude on a trip to Bude
From where the Atlantic Ocean can be viewed?

Food Poem #2

A stream-of-consciousness ‘food’ poem

Food – as a subject for a poem?
It’s okay, I suppose… I think;
And as all foods lead to Ro-em;
Or is that toads? And as Atlantis will sink; or has already – I must keep up with the news –
Then, I shall write my finest verse
Upon it – food, that is – what could be worse? No, don’t answer that.
I could just give you some old tat
And cook it up in butter or fat;
But, no, that will never do;
Perhaps a poetic stew with ingredients varied and tasty;
Or is that me just being a tad hasty?
I could just rehash my ‘Food, Gloria’s Food’ poem to save time
Not that I know what the rush is;
No, I shall save you the blushes
That go with reading an embarrassing work;
And to repost an old poem is to shirk
My responsibilities;
And I do have ‘some’ abilities
When it comes to creation
Of a tantalisingly yummy food poem for the nation;
Not that I have mentioned any foodstuff at all
I have found it tough to recall
One. Oh, yes, I know… a carrot
In a cake
No mistake, that is a start;
And how about a rhubarb
In a tart?
Or a strawberry in a fix
Ham in a jam?
And cutting to the quicks
Mixed vegetables and various fruit
Will cover those categories,
Suit the theme
And yoghurt, milk, fromage frais and cream will include dairy;
See, this writing is not that scary;
It’s just calorie-controlled
With virtues extolled
And sausage rolled…
Oops! There is a suggestion
That all this will cause indigestion;
Maybe I’ve eaten off more than I can chew; it might be time for some exercise or probably a lay down and fasting for a week or two. I think so… don’t you.

Food Poem #3

I’m a little woodworm
I eat wood
I think it’s good
It’s my food
When I can’t get some
I start to squirm
I’m a little hungry
Little woodworm.

Rajiv was inspired to write a rhyming poem:

Food, food, food, I want more food;
I need to feed my hungry brood,
They cry and yelp, they’re in a bad mood;
‘Cause all they can think about is food and food.

Les Moriarty brings the food themed poetry to an end. A warning – you might not want to eat as you read this!:

Are You Game For Food?

Food, glorious food

someone once sung

To disagree with that would

be somewhat rude.

 

They say that game must be

hung

I hope I haven’t

misconstrued.

 

The fact that it’s better rotten

than fresh

Then it can be properly

stewed.

 

To put you off eating was not

my intention

And I know it can seem

rather crude.

 

It does taste nice I’m led to

believe

But I think I’ll stick to a mixed

veg stew.

Your final option was to write a ten-word story using all of the following words: FLABBERGASTED, EYEBROW, GOOGLE, SCANDAL and SLIPPERS. There were some hilarious entries:

Sacha Black came up with something brilliant in the blink of an eye:

Flabbergasted, my eyebrow raised, over the slipper scandal on google.

Charles Norman‘s was a slightly different take on Sacha’s:

Flabbergasted, she raised an eyebrow, seeing Google scandal re slippers!

Rajiv‘s made me smile:

I raised a flabbergasted eyebrow. Google blended scandal with slipper!

David Harrison finishes off with an excellent story:

Google scandal! Flabbergasted? Yes! Eyebrow raised. Even my slippers protested!

***

64954-ExcellentQuotations.com-Author-Unknown

 

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Published this morning at http://channing.info/wp/2016/03/11/a-bevy-of-boulangerisms/:

    A bevy of boulangerisms

    Sitting here in my old garden shed,
    I’m writing a Lim’rick about bread.
    I was just far too swamped
    To take up last week’s prompt,
    So I’m doing it this week instead.

    I should say as well, not instead,
    But I’ve just dragged myself out of bed
    What I really need most
    Is some hot buttered toast.
    Oh bugger! I’ve run out of bread.

    The boulangerie’s not too far
    I’ll be there in five minutes by car
    If I buy some bread
    While my wife’s still in bed
    Perhaps she will think I’m a star

    The boulangerie’s not open yet
    So the big shop is a better bet
    I’ll toast her a crumpet
    She’ll like it or lump it
    It’s near enough bread – so no sweat!

    That way I can carry on writing
    Than shopping, it’s much more exciting
    We’re right out of bread
    But won’t end up dead
    Since hot buttered crumpet’s inviting

  2. Le Fragi says:

    Bread Limerick #1

    ‘Bread’ you said, not potato or shed
    And definitely not a hula-hoop made of lead;
    A roll, or loaf
    Sliced, buttered or both
    And lightly toasted to give them street-cred?

    G:)

  3. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Challenge – “bread” – ladyleemanila

  4. Le Fragi says:

    Bread Limerick #2

    “The torpedoes are ready, captain.”
    “Thank you, number one.”

    Although the men are quite happy with their stale Chelsea bun.”

    “Just one bun between you;

    That will never do;

    It’s not by eating a left over pastry that HMS Breadnought will ever beat the Hun.”

    Upper-Crust Bread Limerick #3

    Use your loaf and toast the queen
    If you’re well bred and voted Green
    Though if your ‘bread’ is green
    It’s probably a has-been
    And, well, not that fit for a queen.

    Bread Limerick #4

    Bread and Bunjolina went to the bakery one day
    To pit their wits against the baker with his wares upon his tray
    They tried the most; they tried the least
    They rose to the occasion like a loaf hosting yeast
    But, even though the baker won, they all had jolie good fun anyway.

    Bread Limerick #5

    Sliced thin or thick
    With butter to lick
    Brown, white
    Take a bite
    Lovely indeed; does the trick.

    Bread Limerick #6

    I won’t mention bread in this rhyme
    I mentioned it some other time
    Crumbs are okay
    But, I’d just like to say
    I won’t be committing ‘that’ crime.

    G:)

  5. TanGental says:

    The Last Birthday

    She died on her birthday
    Cold
    Part of a make do and mend generation.

    I began to unclutter the next day
    Told
    Myself it would numb the sensation

    Shoes to sort, bills to pay
    Fold
    Her coats in anticipation

    Of clearing the way.
    Mould
    My heart with deliberation

    For a future which may
    Hold
    Some peace for my consideration.

    Birthdays suck

  6. Le Fragi says:

    Limerick du pain #sept (parlé avec un accent Français, si vous plaît).

    There once was a baker named Ablur
    Who could bake his bread formidable
    In Marseille he bakéd
    Though his accent was fakéd
    His was the bread you’d want served sur votre tablé

  7. Rajiv says:

    I was not too sure I would get something in, but here goes:
    10 word story.

    Don’t buy piggesyne or logolepsy cheese from Facebook. It’s fatal!

    Poem… Doggerel..

    The night he was born
    On the Cape of Good Horn
    Lucifer cried to me,
    “I am King of all I see!”

    “it’s very dark, I like the dark.
    And here I shall make my mark.”
    He smiled at me, he laughed he smirked,
    From the time I saw his birth.

  8. Cheese-y Tom used Facebook for Piggesnye and Logolepsy reasons but it proved fatal! (bit rubbish, I think, lol. Plus, not sure if the 5 words you used are part of the 10 we are allowed to use? I’ve never been sure, if not, I think I went over the limit. :-0)

  9. I know you didn’t ask for it but, just for fun, how about a limerick includubg the word ‘hypnogenesis’? Possible? You be the judge.

    There’s a new type of pill soporific
    Whose effect is, they say, just terrific.
    For me, watching tennis is
    Pure hypnogenesis;
    It works, though it’s not scientific

  10. Le Fragi says:

    Bread Limerick #8

    A man by the name of Charlie Abel Baker
    Was late-to-bed; and, therefore a late-waker
    He stayed up one night
    Until dawn’s early light
    And as he was going to be late for work that morning (in a bakery, perchance – where he proved the bread, or provoked it, I’m a bit hazy on the detail there), he had to rush his porridge oats (they were Quaker).

    G:)

Leave a Reply

