Guest Writer Slot

This week, I bring you something a little different – a song. My guest writer, Donny Marchand has featured in this slot several times with short stories, Squeaky and the Dullards, Daddy has a Brass Band and Neetun Patience. What you might not know about Donny is that he has background in music. Here’s a little bit about him, in his own words:

 My record producing credits are:

Shakin’Stevens, Gene Vincent, Betsy Cook, The Wild Angels, and Elaine Delmar.

Artists who have recorded my songs include:

Roger Daltrey, Eddie Floyd, Peaches & Herb, Bill Haley & the Comets, Wilson Pickett, The Wild Angels, James Last, Reperata & the Delrons, Pierre Grosgolas (France), The Executives (Australia), The Good Rats, The Showstoppers, French Kiss, Jay & the Techniques, Peter Allen, The Duprees, and Prelude.

 Film Credits:

 Song “Panic” used in promotion of Disney/Pixar animation film “Monsters University”.

Current Video on YouTube:

“Panic” by French Kiss – Produced by Glenn Rivera to excerpts from “Grease”.

Theatre Credits:       

I have written the music and librettos for three musicals. These were staged at The Hackney Empire, The Oxford Street Theatre, and The Springfield Theatre Club in North London respectively. Additionally, I wrote the music and lyrics for a musical “Sex and Violence at the Fantasy Café” which was performed at the Edinburgh and Bath festivals, plus I wrote the music and lyrics for an Italian musical production of “The Comedy of Errors” that toured Italy.

I think you’ll agree that Donny’s a huge talent in this industry.  Donny has been working on a new song about the referendum, “The Devil’s Advocate“. He says, “Whatever your opinion of the referendum is, why not add a little humor to it?”  Please take a look at the link and leave a comment to let him know what you think. You can also visit his Facebook page. All you need to do is a search under “The Devil’s Referendum” and it should come up. He’s given me permission to use this drawing to go with it.

https://mail2.virginmedia.com/appsuite/api/mail/datauri-file.png?action=attachment&folder=default0%2FINBOX&id=75929&attachment=2&delivery=view&delivery=view


I wish Donny every success with his new venture.

***

If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

***

Wallpaper_SeeingTheMagic_PSP-Pals_Sample

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Guest Writer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Writer Slot

  1. AJ.Dixon says:

    I’ve listened to the song, and I think it has definitely added some much-needed humour to the current political debate. Rest assured that I’ll now be humming “The Devil’s Referendum” whenever I watch the coverage of it! 😆
    Also, I think this is a fantastic new branch to add to your guest posts, Esther ☺ Musicians can be fantastic writers too! I’m eager to hear more!

Leave a Reply

