I Need You!

As many of you will know, I have run some short story competitions in the past. The last two were flash fiction competitions of 250 words, with an open theme. I’m thinking of running another, but I’d like your input. What would get you thinking and itching to enter? Here are some ideas I’ve had:

  • A flash fiction story of 100 words
  • A themed story of 1000/2000 words
  • A themed poem of up to 40 lines
  • An open poetry competition up to 40 lines
  • An open short story competition of 1000/2000 words
  • An open or themed story up to 5000 words

Please tell me what you think and do add to the suggestions. This is YOUR competition so I’d love to hear what you think. I’m thinking of running several simultaneously e.g. poetry and short story competitions.

If you’d like to read more about the last two competitions, please take a look at the Flash Fiction Competition Showcase page.

***

baa10279b2da202bf56e70946a57b396

This entry was posted in writing, writing competitions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to I Need You!

  1. Julia says:

    A flash fiction comp of up to 100 words, please!

  2. My vote would be flash fiction and poetry! Sounds like fun!

  3. Jocelyn Barker says:

    Hi, Esther!

    I would most like a 100 word flash fiction competition – open preferably. My second choice would be a 1000/2000 word open story. Best wishes, Jocelyn.

  4. Simon says:

    I think it’s hard to judge stories in an open theme. You could add a theme or words and judge on creative use of the theme? Just a thought…

  5. Jane Risdon says:

    Flash fiction 100 words would be cool. Next, a short story 1000+ words. I enjoy both.

  6. patgarcia says:

    I’d prefer an open short story 1000 to 2000 words or an open flash fiction of 100 words.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  7. AJ.Dixon says:

    I’d love it if you ran a themed 1000/2000 word story. That’d be a challenge to get your teeth in to!

  8. TanGental says:

    I’m a less is more guy really when it comes to comps. I also prefer themed. Other than the 5000 I’ll enter anyway!

  9. Sherri says:

    Hi Esther! Great idea. I would say the 100 word flash and the themed poem up to 40 lines. Hope this helps to add to the other comments! Looking forward to hearing more… xx

  10. Sacha Black says:

    I prefer themed, it gives me a prompt or something to go from. Having a blank canvas is hard, no one likes the blank page.

    I prefer shorter – 100 words, or at least less than 1000 also I think prizes can be lower for less words. I am always a bit reluctant to do 2000 word stories, just not my skill set really.

  11. wagabi12 says:

    A themed story of between 1000 – 2000 words would be okay. It enables one to think seriously and come up with a piece that can interest many readers.

  12. JasonMoody77 says:

    Hi Esther,

    Any competition is s darn good excuse to write. I always enjoy prompts, so maybe a 1000 word story where you provide both the opening and closing line?

    Regardless, I’m in.

  13. I’d say a themed story up to 2,000 words. πŸ™‚

  14. gjsimmonds says:

    I’m good for any except the first.

  15. Ali Isaac says:

    I love flash, but it’s everywhere. I’d really love to see a short story competition for a change, either themed or open.

  16. Helen says:

    Themed or unthemed… flash or longer. Am interested in all types of competition, Esther.

  17. vanessaedits says:

    I quite like the idea of a themed short story.

  18. I have a liking for reading and writing Flash Fiction, Esther. I’m usually at my best when given a prompt.

  19. Hi Esther, hmmm…….I’d chose the 100 & 1000 words competitions

Leave a Reply

