Guest Writer Spot

I have featured three of Traci Aina’s poems in my Friday Guest Writer Spot on previous occasions and I’m delighted to feature another one of her very powerful poems.

Here’s a little about her in her own words:

‘Hi, I’m Traci.  I am a beginner writer, wife and mother of two.  As well as writing, my passions are literature, travelling, yoga and meditation’.

You can read her three previous poems, Cold Lover, Another Baby Mother and Nobody Woman

 

HUSTLER

By

Traci Aina

 

Walking down the street

With your two gold teet*

Mobile in hand, you’re making a grand

Selling drugs on the street

 

A Mercedes Benz,

Pretty girls on your side

Cruising through East London

Corruption’s your guide

 

In the dance-hall

Listen to the beat,

Two steps behind

Danger he’ll meet

 

BOOM – BYE-BYE

Two bullets to the head,

No one will mourn him

The Drugs Man is dead.

 

*teeth

 ***

If you’d like to see your work in my Guest Writer Spot, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com. I accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines.

***

yehsdh

This entry was posted in Guest Writer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. AJ.Dixon says:

    I like this a lot. Short and sweet, but powerful nonetheless. I love how the words seem to bounce in a jolly, almost nursey-rhyme style despite the serious content. Well done!

  2. Pingback: Guest Writer Spot | esthernewtonblog

Leave a Reply

