Monday Motivations

If you’re feeling sluggish after the weekend, or if you need a bit of a break from working on a big writing project, try some flash fiction. It’s fun and a great way to sharpen up your writing skills. You can try short and sweet – say a 10-word/20-word/50-word story, or if you’re feeling creative go for something a little longer.   

Here’s my  99-word story:

First Sight

The stench hits my nostrils. I gag, my stomach lurching. Sweat soaks my palms and my body jerks out a dance.

Shouts are gaining, a crowd chanting. A roar pierces the air. What little is left in my stomach flies from my mouth. Hands grab me, jagged nails digging into flesh, yanking me to my feet.

I’m flung outside. Dust in my eyes, dirt in my mouth, filth up my nose. Sunlight stabs me. Then I see it. Its wonder, its magnificence, its presence. I’m here! My first view of the Coliseum.  The lion pounces, ensuring it’s my last.

 ***

f7732d3a5424d2e25b0e36c592161f71

 

This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. Helen Jones says:

    Yes, it’s a great way to get things moving, especially if you set a timer as well 🙂 I just entered the 100 word story contest at Reader’s Digest – you posted the link last week. The story I came up with was unexpected, and reminded me that ideas can be found just about anywhere.

  2. Pingback: Peppers for a Nickel! | Simplicity Lane

  3. Steve says:

    I just posted a story on Simplicity Lane, “Peppers for a Nickel!”; however, I cannot copy the link for a few days.

  4. Sacha Black says:

    Wow that’s savage!!!

Leave a Reply

