My Weekly Writing Challenge

Yes, I know it’s Christmas, but that’s no excuse for not joining in my weekly challenge. You have two weeks for this one – until 7th January. We’ll be well into the New Year then so my challenge is centred around the theme of New Year (with a few fun words thrown in too!):

Option one: Choose as many words as you can from the following list  and write a twenty-word story:

  • New
  • Year
  • Cocktails
  • Jackanapes
  • Plastered
  • Dave
  • Expectations
  • Games
  • Midnight
  • Jollification
  • Discommodious
  • Resolutions
  • Unicorn
  • January
  • Granny

Option two: Write a story/poem, centred around any of the following New Year themes :

  • Friendship
  • New beginnings
  • Party

Last week, your list of words was as follows:

  • Crackers
  • Mary
  • Party
  • Stockings
  • Celebrate
  • Star
  • Donkey
  • Santa
  • Gold
  • Frosty
  • Mistletoe
  • Nativity
  • Friends
  • Believe

I loved reading each and every entry:

Jo Lambert was super speedy in sending in her fun story:

Mary watches friends celebrate, pull gold crackers, hang stockings and kiss under mistletoe while Santa star gazes under frosty skies.

Glynis Smy didn’t take long to craft her entertaining story:

Crackers, the Nativity donkey, wore stockings to celebrate with friends, Mary, and Santa. He was the star in frosty gold.

I’m pleased to welcome Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge to the challenge:

Hopelessly gazing at the words, she wanted to hope inspiration for a mistletoe story would appear before the party started…

Helen Jones sent in an hilarious story:

‘You can’t put stockings on a donkey!’
‘Who says? It’s my Nativity.’
‘You’re crackers, Mary.’
‘I believe I’m the star.’

Les Moriarty’s story brings a smile:

Mary’s friends believed in Santa. They celebrated at her party with crackers, food, stockings and mistletoe. Frosty the donkey smiled.

Option two for last week was to write a story/poem, centred around any of the following Christmas themes :

  • Joy
  • Peace
  • Hope

Les Moriarty wrote a powerful poem on the third theme:

Hope

I hope

She hopes

 

I wish

She wishes

 

Without hope our dreams

remain in the dark.

Without wishes the reasons

everything

happens disappear.

 

I’d like to run away

and hope to be found

by you

for

a

second.

 

So I make a wish

and

hope.

Keith Channing covered all three themes with his brilliant poem (Posted at Joy, peace and hope (with the picture, which makes sense of the last two verses)

We’re going away for Christmas,
Driving down to Spain
We took our camper there last year,
And now we’re going again.
A place called Benicarlo,
Half way down the coast.
The way the weather’s looking now
We should be warm as toast
We want a quiet holiday
Just looking for some peace
If I watch what I eat and drink
I won’t end up obese.
The camper’s “Arabella”
She is my pride and joy
Though she is filled with stuff to eat
We never do pak choi.
A web shop that we deal with
Was offering pot luck
And when the post came yesterday
I was damned near dumbstruck.
Among the goodies that arrived
I found a selfie stick
Hoped that if I made use of it
I wouldn’t look a dork
And so I took the selfie
My wife was quite excited
But judging by my face I was
A long way from delighted.
The more I look at this damned pic
The more I think it’s crappy
In fact to tell the truth I’m not
A happy snappy chappie.

Adhin Shamina wrote a super story to share with you. It’s too long to post here so please scroll down to the bottom of my comments from last week to read it:

https://esthernewtonblog.wordpress.com/2015/12/17/my-weekly-writing-challenge-80/

***

images

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in writing competitions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. blondeusk says:

    Happy Christmas Esther 🙂 I might enter this !

  2. Looks like mine from last week is still awaiting moderation.

  3. Published today at Friendship, Party and a New Beginning:

    Why should it be
    That each time we see
    The twenty-fifth of December
    We find more and more
    That Christmas of yore
    Becomes harder to remember?

    Like that holiday
    Down Malaysia way
    That near drove me off of my rocker
    We flew west to east
    In an ancient old beast;
    A Friendship from Dutch maker Fokker

    We left Kuala Lumpur
    With my woollen jumper
    (Not true but at leat it’s a rhyme)
    Without feeling inferior
    We toured the interior
    (A lie, coz we didn’t have time).

    One year in the East
    For the annual feast
    We were staying in downtown Hong Kong
    When my lad got his gift
    He was suitably miffed
    It was broken before very long

    He took from their box
    His plastic binocs
    And the look on his face said ‘betrayed’
    Though he soon understood
    That they’d be no damned good
    “You can tell by the place they were made”

    In my best pirate voice
    I said, “You’ve got no choice,
    Make the best of what’s there now, my hearty.
    The toy may be broken
    But Captain has spoken;
    As Bart Simpson said, ‘Let’s have a party’.”

    So party we did
    Disappointment was hid
    And out thoughts went from losing to winning
    And that’s how my son
    Learnt to forget what’s done
    And commit to a brand new beginning.

  4. Helen says:

    Really enjoyed your piece Keith. Wish my dad had been so understanding when I woke up early one December 25th and decided to look at my then favourite thing in the world, viz chocolate, through my brand new microscope – not realising you need a slide on top not just underneath what you are looking at. Chocolate soon blocked all the holes and the microscope was ruined before my father got up. My was the air blue that day!

  5. Pingback: Renew~Etheree | WritersDream9

  6. Hi, Esther! Just wanted to let you know that I wrote one for this week so you can be on the lookout. Hope your holidays were wonderful! ❤

  7. Hi Esther, after a bit of an unavoidable break from your challenge, this week I give you a choice of humorous prose or depressing poem:

    Humorous prose – all 15 words:
    Dave, the discommodious midnight unicorn, shattered New Year expectations, resolutions, games, jackanapes and jollification.
    Plastered from cocktails, Granny missed January.

    Depressing poem – only ten words:
    New Year games and jollification
    distended by discomodious cocktails,
    resolutions diminishing at midnight’s bell,
    expectations disappearing in January’s drunken wake.

    • esthernewton says:

      I love both equally so I’ll have to use both. Though the first one made me burst out laughing 🙂 Many thanks, Jane. It’s really good to have you back. Hope you had a lovely Christmas. happy New Year!

      • Thank you Esther. It’s good to be back – although there’s something else I’m supposed to be doing. All work and no play makes Jack a blah blah…
        Happy New Year to you too.

  8. Sacha Black says:

    Plastered granny was not impressed with idiot Dave’s jollification at midnight nor the Discommodious nature of the unicorn related resolution.

  9. Helen Jones says:

    Hi Esther! Hope you had a lovely Christmas 🙂

    Here is my story contribution:

    ‘Another New Year.’
    I grabbed another from the tray of cocktails as Dave lurched past, plastered.
    ‘Is it midnight yet?’

    Happy New Year 🙂 xx

  10. Hi Esther, Here’s my offering – Young Dave, drinking cocktails at midnight with his old granny, makes New Year resolutions and has high expectations for 2016

Leave a Reply

