Guest Writer Spot

My Friday blog post offers writers the opportunity for their  work to be seen and read by others. I’m happy to accept stories, poems, articles – in fact, anything and everything. All you have to do is make sure your prose is no longer than 2000 words and your poems no more than 40 lines. If you would like some of your writing to be featured on my blog, please contact me here or by e-mail: esthernewton@virginmedia.com

My guest writer this week is Adhin Shamina. Here’s a little bit about her, in her own words:

“I am thirty two years old, married. From a small village of Saint-Pierre, currenly living in a village called Surinam. Working as Nursing Officer for twelve years now. Hobbies are cooking, reading , playing badminton and of course writing. Wish to be known by my words.”

Here is her atmospheric poem:

SHADOWS

Assumption of presence

that leaves us in illusion

whether of what we await,

wish to treasure as memories

or struggle to forget.

Holding us vulnerable

as objects to manipulate

according to their whims,

rendering us helpless

before their existence,

either real or imaginary,

as mere puppets with strings

held in the hands of the unseen.

Appearing now, disappearing then,

entangling minds

in a vicious hide and seek,

at times faith,

at times betrayal,

where emotions are stirred

as pawns in the game.

We grow restless

running after or away

from what eventually

remains unseen.

***

baa10279b2da202bf56e70946a57b396

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Writer Spot

  1. blondeusk says:

    Fabulous! You have good taste in guest writers 🙂

  2. tjfreesoul says:

    Hi Esther,

    Hope you are well. Please find attached, five poems I wrote quite a while ago. If any are of interest, I would be happy to have them featured on your blog.

    I am trying to re-ignite my writing and I am also re-working some of my short stories as well as having a go at flash fiction.

    I really appreciate your blog posts and support which encourages me to write more.

    Best wishes,

    Traci Aina

    ________________________________

  3. Jane Risdon says:

    Wonderful, enjoyed the poem and the post. God luck Adhin and thanks Esther. 🙂

Leave a Reply

