Markets For Writers

Apologies for highlighting my own competition – yet again. I have a couple of reasons: 1) The closing date is coming round quickly and 2) I haven’t had a chance to research a market this week (Miss Clumsy has struck again and injured herself. Very swollen ankle – spent two hours at the hospital this afternoon. They thought I’d broken it but luckily I’ve only torn the ligaments, which they’ve informed me will take 4-6 weeks to heal).

Flash Fiction Competition

Prizes: 1st £50, 2nd £25, 3rd £10

Entry fee: £2 per story

Word Limit: Stories of up to 250 words are invited on any theme.

Payment can be made by credit card or Paypal, via the website. Cheques should be made payable to Esther Newton.

Entries should be submitted as e-mail attachments in Word or PDF format. In the body of the e-mail, please detail the following: your name, postal address, e-mail address, story title and word count.

For postal entries, please include a cover sheet with the following information: your name, contact details, story title and word count. If you want your story back, please enclose an S.A.E.

The title does not form part of the word count.

Your name should not appear anywhere on the story.

E-mail entries to: esthernewton@virginmedia.com

Postal entries to: Flash Fiction Competition, 21 Fuller Close

Thatcham, Berkshire, RG19 4GS, England

Website: https://esthernewtonblog.wordpress.com/flash-fiction-competition-2015/

Closing date: 15th November 2015

All winning entries will be published and showcased on the website.

***

181a3d185a84099077c07bf8afd30537

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Markets For Writers

  1. Helen says:

    Commiserations on the ligament injury! When I did this I found wearing hiking boots really helped: I had a golf ball size swelling on my ankle. Be prepared for your foot to go lots of interesting colours and it might feel squelchy. With the hiking boots on, I did manage to walk around at least. Really hope you feel better soon.

  2. CJ says:

    Poor you, I do hope it heals soon. I did something similar a while back playing football with the children. It’s fine to walk on, but still healing some two months later. Make sure you take it easy.

  3. I’m so glad your ankle isn’t broken, Esther, and I hope it heals quickly.

  4. That is a long time to heal. Take care of yourself!

  5. Take care and hope it heals quickly.

  6. Get well soon! I wish you a speedy recovery.

  7. Sacha Black says:

    Reblogged this on Sacha Black and commented:
    Esther is running another flash fiction competition – no excuses – it’s only a 250 word limit. I’ve written one entry and got another half done… Who’s going to enter?

  8. Sherri says:

    Thanks for the reminder Esther, but so sorry for your injury, I do hope you feel better soon 😦 Love the quote…so very true. Sending a big hug 🙂 xx

  9. Steve says:

    Hope you are on the ‘run’ again soon. I jotted down a quick poem for you 🙂

    I tell my friends that I was on the run
    to grab a pen for a writing idea.
    I told the doctor that I was stepping outside
    to get some writing inklings looking up at the sky.
    I tell myself that accidents do happen
    when one’s mind is full of new words.
    I guess that’s a too many ‘I’s affliction
    and you’ll think the new book will be science fiction.

    Steve
    (P.S., I do feel bad that your mishap, and aches and pain, gave me an idea for a poem.)

  10. Annika Perry says:

    Sorry to read about your injury Esther. 😞 I do hope the ankle is soon healed and you will listen to the doctor’s advice – probably lots of rest and keeping it up. I know how difficult it is to obey them when there is so much else that needs doing. Perhaps this will give you forced time to write! Take care and please be careful. ❤️

  11. Bharul Chhatbar says:

    So sorry to hear about your injury. Pray for your speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

