Funny Of The Week/Funny Ads Part One

This is the first in my new weekly ‘Funny of the Week’ slot. I’m not sure this ‘gift’ would be appreciated…

slide_316792_2904605_free

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Funny Of The Week/Funny Ads Part One

  1. Sacha Black says:

    WTF?! That’s so random and wrong it’s hilarious! Who does that? That’s the sort of thing you would see on some dating horror show!

  2. Helen says:

    This is truly horrible. But, my husband was given a similar present by his late father! For some families not being able to afford a funeral was the ultimate shame. Hence the attraction of gifting some form of provision. It would protect a person’s reputation as they would not be at risk of dying a pauper.

    • esthernewton says:

      I can understand why they did it years ago and why it’s a sensible idea. It’s just not something many would appreciate!

      • Helen says:

        I think my husband got his plan as a twenty first birthday present. So, it was meant to be something special.

      • Helen says:

        I should add that my husband is a lot older than I am and his late father was born when Queen Victoria was still on the throne. I feel it is important people understand the context of those times. Even when I was at primary school in the 1960s, I remember funeral plans were something many people had and people would come to your door trying to sell them! There was a huge fear of dying a pauper, which was considered extremely shameful.

        Obviously, I’m not trying to justify the ad. I do find it horrible.

  3. blondeusk says:

    This made me laugh!!

  4. And they say romance is dead. Hang on…

  5. I dread to think what my wife’s reaction would be if I told her that, for Christmas this year, I’ve arranged her funeral. I might end up needing mine earlier than I had hoped.

  6. Sherri says:

    What the…? I had to read it twice, unbelievable!!!

  7. Ali Isaac says:

    No… that can’t be genuine! Where on earth did you find this? Lol!

Leave a Reply

