Monday Motivations

For those of you struggling to kick-start your writing week, here are a couple of prompts:

Short Story opening two lines:

He couldn’t believe his eyes. Surely not right there in the supermarket?

Poetry opening two lines:

She watches the morning unfold,

A beautiful woman with a head of gold.

***

Last week, I gave you the opening lines for the following:

Story: 

Matty knew he shouldn’t have taken it.

Poem:

She was always there for me

The poem was a popular choice. Please visit Jane Basil’s blog and read her brilliant poem: https://janebasilblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/always-there-for-me/

Adhin Shamina wrote a powerful poem:

She was always there for me,
travelling in my empty pockets,
hiding behind my torn clothes,
pricking my feet
through holes in my slippers,
in my dirty hands,
in my eyes swollen with
sleepless nights of hunger,
in my aching stomach
without a morsels for days,
in eyes full of repulsion
as if I sinned when they saw me,
in words full of humiliation,
in back turning on me
when head bowed
I raised my hand
for not the moon and stars
but a little pity
of which even the richest were poor.
But now she will be sad.
Now I am no longer there for her.
Whom will she hold hostage?
Good bye POVERTY!
I got my liberty.
Go choose another slave.

Geoff Le Pard sent in an emotional one:

She was always there for me
when I took my first step
seen by no one

She was always there for me
when I walked to school
on my own

She was always there for me
when I opened my heart
and could tell no one

She was always there for me
when I said, ‘I do’
on my own

She was always there for me
when I held my new born
with no one to advise

And she will always be here for me
as draw my last breath
no longer alone

Bharul Chhatbar brings a smile to the face:

IRRESISTIBLE

Wanted to snooze the morning alarm
But, she’s always there for me!
Lazily lay turning in bed
But, she’s always there for me!
Somehow managing to make coffee post workout
But, she’s always there for me!
Wanted lunch in the office canteen
But, she’s always there for me!
Returned thinking to feel cozy on sofa
But, she’s always there for me!
Took Tuffy at garden, staring beautiful
But, she’s always there for me!
Hearted a plate full of deserts
But, she’s always there for me!
Lay in bed,waiting for her to sleep
Soon can catch up my internet
But a hand hit like a hammer
Oh irresistible! SHE’S ALWAYS THERE FOR ME!

***

275141858454499443_SHCRhy6q_f

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. somewords4u says:

    She watches the morning unfold,
    a beautiful woman with a head of gold.
    She stands legendary
    to weaken even the fearless and bold
    but also spread her warmth
    on to which hopes hold
    that soon it will no longer be cold,
    blossoming the roses, the chrysanthemums
    and the marigold.
    She appears in many tales
    whenever they are told
    and her virtues being known
    are yet to see a threshold.
    She sees the young growing old
    and yet she will never be old.
    Every day she gracefully show
    as the morning unfold,
    a beautiful woman with head of gold.

  2. Ah oh…I know I’m not going to be able to resist the two line prompt. I have a scene playing out in my head already! 😀

  3. TanGental says:

    She watches the morning unfold,

    A beautiful woman with a head of gold.

    She groans: why is her head so heavy.

    Maybe it was that final bevy.

    Last night’s a fog of booze and bars

    Vodka shots and men from Mars.

    The one she fancied, now she recalls

    With well honed gluts and unearthly earlobes

    Caught her eye with a piercing stare

    And swapped a wish for a lock of hair.

    She thought him cool, well mannered lad

    Who she had to drag back to her pad.

    At her front door his hesitation

    Just added to her anticipation.

    She puckered up, just one sweet kiss.

    Instead he said, ‘About your wish.

    Take it now. They don’t last long.’

    ‘In the morning it’ll be gone.’

    She paused then said, ‘I don’t want much.

    A lovely face and a Midas touch.’

    She recalls that they then went to bed

    And now she’s woken with a heavy head.

    The mirror suggests her face is new

    Her hair is gilded and the world’s askew.

    For next to her, and she knows this is silly

    Is an alien lad with a golden willy.

Leave a Reply

