My Weekly Writing Challenge

This week’s challenge is short and sweet. I’m looking for a ten-word story, using four of the following words:

  • Serendipity
  • Illicit
  • Dollop
  • Hullabaloo
  • Shrubbery
  • Squelch
  • Priministerial
  • Gargantuan

I think they’ll be some interesting results!

Last week, I gave you a single word for your challenge: Fear.

Here are the results:

Keith Channing sent in a super story:

http://channing.info/wp/2015/09/10/you-have-nothing-to-fear-but/

Jane Basil always produces something a little different:

https://janebasilblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/victim-of-vanity/

Geoff Le Pard says he’s cheating a bit as his  dad recited this to him when he was a child. I’ll let him off as it’s so entertaining:

‘The Fear’

It was a dark and stormy night
The roads were dry and clean
And I was walking backwards to the place where I had been
Suddenly I saw a noise
Stood on my face and looked
There is was
It came again
I did the splits
Had 15 fits
And left myself wit

Bharul Chhatbar sent in two brilliant pieces:

FEAR  MEANS:
Fully
Emotional
Andante
Random behaviour.

Poem:

A fear is not a fear until you fear
A fear is not a fear until you face
A fear is not a fear until you chase
A fear is not a fear until you overcome
So do not fear,and let the FEAR come near!

***

aa9db3080cbb6ce3ff0e18816aacc090

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Pingback: Ester Newton’s 10 Word Story Challenge | TESSA BARRIE'S LOST BLOGS

  2. Great prompt 😀 How about…The illicit, and gargantuan shrubbery, has caused quite a hullabaloo!

  3. Sacha Black says:

    illicit serendipity from a dollop of priministerial gargantuan squelchy shrubbery.

    priminister?? What is that? I had to look it up but got no answer?!

  4. esthernewton says:

    Great story 🙂 Good to see you on here again 🙂

  5. Helen Jones says:

    Hi Esther! How about ‘The illicit jam dollop hit her gargantuan thigh. Hullabaloo ensued.’

  6. Priministerial? Really? It’s not in any dictionary that I can find, but there’s no law against poetical licence. Here’s two from me:
    A gargantuan dollop of illicit sex in the shrubbery? Priministerial!
    The gargantuan dollop of illicit icecream toppled; squelch. Such hullabaloo!

Leave a Reply

