My Weekly Writing Challenge

I usually give you several word/themed choices in my weekly writing challenge, so this week, I’m just going to give you one word:

Fear

This word evokes different feelings in all of us. Perhaps it relates to a phobia, or a particular situation. You can write about your own fear, or create a fear for a character in a story. Or if a poem comes to mind, I’d love to see it.

Last week’s challenge had an autumnal feel. I asked you to write a 20-word story, using at least five of the following autumnal words:

  • Blustery
  • Russet
  • Cracking
  • Foggy
  • Harvest
  • Enchanting
  • Earthy
  • Pumpkin
  • Cobweb
  • Frost

Here are your deliciously crisp, autumnal offerings:

The first entry welcomes newcomer Traci Aina with her beautiful story:

Autumn Wonder

Ollie stepped into the blustery, foggy morning, the russet leaves cracking underfoot as enchanting as the delicate frost on a cobweb.

Jason Moody sent in two excellent stories:

The russet sun hung in the foggy, harvest sky, enchanting the early risen harvest folk. Autumn was here, at last.

And:

The frost was cracking underfoot. The cobweb shimmered, enchanting me. The foggy curtain hid something my eyes would not believe.

Adhin Shmina had a great go:

Weird Dimpy who found enchanting to harvest geeky thoughts of foggy air with frost everywhere, feared the wriggling on cobwebs.

Jane Basil sent in two super stories:

Enchanting foggy days followed the pumpkin harvest. Frost cracking underfoot, blustery wind chilling, I inhaled the earthy scent of freedom.

And:

Frost diamonds sparkle on an enchanting cobweb. The fat spider eyes his prey. A sudden blustery wind sends him cracking

Bharul Chhatbar sent in a clever story:

The Cobweb

Maggie for years harvested earthy pumpkins on foggy frosty days. Alas!was caught in blustery winds bidding adieu to life.

***

stay_drunk_on_writing_ray_bradbury_quote-387831

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Pingback: Victim of vanity | Making it write

  2. Fun, fun, and more fun! Well, it is the weekend,after all! Let’s say this poem is about the fear of oblivion. I used the word fear in it, so it’s not cheating – perhaps.
    https://janebasilblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/victim-of-vanity/

  3. TanGental says:

    This is a cheat. My dad recited this to us as kids. My son, aged seven named it ‘The Fear’
    It was a dark and stormy night
    The roads were dry and clean
    And I was walking backwards to the place where I had been
    Suddenly I saw a noise
    Stood on my face and looked
    There is was
    It came again
    I did the splits
    Had 15 fits
    And left myself with me

  4. Pingback: From ‘It was a dark and stormy night’ to Sir Francis Drake | TanGental

Leave a Reply

