Exciting News!

Sophie’s Secret Quest

As a few of you know, I’ve been fortunate enough to have my series of children’s books for 5-7 year olds accepted by a publisher. I’ve still had to pinch myself, but now there’s some information about it on the publisher’s website so I’m starting to believe it more now.  I’m not sure of the exact date when the first book is coming out, so I’ll keep you posted.

For anyone who’s interested, here’s a little bit about the series:

Sophie Berry’s long, boring summer holiday suddenly becomes one of excitement and adventure when she finds a tiny statue of a dragon at the bottom of her garden.

What appears to be a statue turns out to be a real-life dragon from another world. Lilly, the dragon, has come to the human world because her world, Mandoreum, is in danger. Gnarla, Queen of the witches, has tricked everyone and cast an evil spell ridding Mandoreum and its people of their magic and beauty.

Fairy Godmother Grace manages to produce a counter-spell involving the finding and solving of six clues in order to restore Mandoreum and to banish Gnarla forever. The solving of the six clues will also restore Lilly, who is no longer her magnificent self; her scales keep falling off, she has no teeth, her wings are broken, her long tail is now a silly stump of a tail, cotton-wool balls have taken the place of claws and Lilly can no longer breathe fire.

So begins the first of six books in the ‘Sophie’s Secret Quest’ series, telling the story of Sophie and Lilly’s discovery and decoding of the six clues. With the solving of each one, a little part of Mandoreum, its people and Lilly is restored.

***

At one time, I didn’t think I’d ever become a published author, but this just shows you should never give up on your dreams.

never_give_up_close

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Exciting News!

  1. Congratulations! I am thrilled for you 🙂

  2. TanGental says:

    That is excellent. A FAB FRIDAY!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOP

  3. Wish you all the best. Indeed a great news.

  4. JasonMoody77 says:

    Brilliant! Great news. I look forward to reading them myself! 😄

  5. Congratulations! Wishing you all the best 🙂

  6. Helen Jones says:

    Congratulations, Esther! That’s fantastic news and I love the sound of your stories too – I’m sure they’ll do really well 🙂 xx

  7. Steve says:

    Congratulations!

  8. patgarcia says:

    Congratulations Esther!!! And I’m glad you didn’t give up. That is an encouragement for me and it keeps me going.
    All the best.
    Shalom,
    Pat

  9. Congratulations, Esther! It’s success stories like this that keep the rest of us going!

  10. That sounds great – really exciting – not just the news of your success but the stories themselves! Massive congratulations!

    • esthernewton says:

      Thanks very much, Jane. Your comment means a lot 🙂

      • I love childrens stories, although my favourites are picture books. Maybe your success will encourage me to look for an agent or publisher. I have four children’s stories tucked away – I haven’t done anything with them because I’m terrified of rejection.
        I’ve been wondering – is it possible to make a good living as a professional failure? Are there any openings for me out there?

      • esthernewton says:

        Yes, there is, Jane. I’ve been rejected lots of times – you just need to keep going and one day, it’ll happen. Perhaps sooner than you think 🙂

  11. I’m so thrilled for you Esther, how exciting, I wish you much success and happiness. 🙂

  12. blondeusk says:

    Congrats 🙂 so glad I met you now that you will be famous

  13. Congratulations, that’s wonderful news. Truly wonderful 😀

  14. firefly1275 says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  15. Linda Sage says:

    Fantastic news, Esther. Well done. Glad you had a great holiday too. Missed your posts.

  16. What fantastic news! Congratulations, I’m chuffed to bits for you.

  17. Looks like all is going to plan. Good to see things progressing and look forward to hearing more as things develop. Incidentally… Essie? Is that how I should address you from now on?

    • esthernewton says:

      Thanks, Graeme. Re Essie – my mother-in-law calls me that and I’ve always hated it! But there’s another ‘Esther Newton’ writer out there (I know, how dare she?!) so I wanted to make sure I wasn’t confused with her. The name ‘Esther’ also isn’t that memorable for children so I talked things over with the publisher and she loved the name ‘Essie’! My friends call me ‘Ess’, which I like, so I will answer to ‘Esther’ or ‘Ess’, but not ‘Essie’!!

  18. Tanenxi says:

    Dear Esther,That’s awesome! I’ll anticipate your new book. Wish you all the best for it! 😉
    Date: Fri, 4 Sep 2015 14:12:56 +0000
    To: tanenxi05@hotmail.com

  19. Hearty congrats, Esther! I’m so happy for you.

  20. will Richardson says:

    Fantastic news, Esther, congratulations!

  21. Sacha Black says:

    This is so so so sooooooo
    AWESOME. I cannot wait to read these to my boy. I love the sound of them let alone him!! I also love the fact the publisher uses purple on their site!! Haha.

    You are an inspiration Esther, you really are. You make me believe that dreams really can come true 😊💖🎉

  22. Annika Perry says:

    Wow, Esther!! 😀 wonderful news and so happy for you. Congratulations,you deserve this. Love the story premise of the books, although slightly (ha!) older than your intended readers I want to devour these. Well done!

  23. Fabulous news Esther, many congratulations. I’m looking forward to reading your dragon story to my grand-daughter, I know she’ll love it and we can enjoy together!

  24. lorriebowden says:

    Congratulations!!! 🙂

  25. Congratulations 🙂 Great achievement!

Leave a Reply

