My Weekly Writing Challenge

My challenge for your this week is for a poem. Your theme is the sea. It can be a gentle, calm sea of summer, or a raging, fierce sea of winter; it’s up to you.

Last week, I asked for ten-word stories including the following words:

  • Spider-Man
  • Catastrophic
  • Shrimp
  • Malodorous
  • Callipygian

Here are your hilarious works of art:

Mellissa Barker Simpson write this entertaining story, which played out in her head:

Spiderman: What a catastrophic, malodorous mess.
Shrimp: Showing off, Callipygian?

Jane Basil always comes up with something brilliant:

Spiderman’s callipygian form writhes.The malodorous shrimp churns within. Catastrophic!

I can’t stop picturing Sacha Black‘s highly amusing story in my head!:

Spider-man did a catastrophic malodorous shrimp fart from callipygian buttocks.

***

5709058605_193f20c885_b

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Sacha Black says:

    hehe, I can’t believe no one else did farts?! clearly I have a filthy mind! I have to say, that was the hardest one yet. I reckon you should join in each week :p I would have loved to see what you made of that one….

    A POEM….. :O I dont do poems…. oh dear, will have to see if I can… no promises though… :p

  2. Bumba says:

    Being lazy, I consulted my wordpress archives. I wrote this song a year or two or three ago, called Copper Sea https://bumbastories.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/the-copper-sea/
    We sailed the copper sea
    We played out our destiny
    We walked together in the sand
    You were my woman and I was your man….
    The letters came tumbling from the sky
    But the people walked away, They did not wonder why
    And the letters cast their shadows on the land
    you were my woman and I was your man

  3. en xi says:

    Hi!
    I’m not very good with poems, but I racked my brains and thought of one titled: the animals under the sea.
    Hope you enjoy it! Here it goes…

    Under the crystal blue seas,
    live marine animals drinking tea.

    They are all clad in pink,
    looking ever so neat.

    The shark pours tea for the whale,
    while the whale tells a tale.

    To the beat the seahorses dance,
    just what they do every month.

    Oh, the animals living happily under the sea,
    all clad in pink!

    Oh, the animals living happily under the sea,
    telling tales and drinking tea!

    Oh, the animals living happily under the sea,
    dancing to the beat!

  4. Published today at http://keithkreates.com/2015/06/19/a-day-by-the-sea/. Any suggestions as to the mental state that produced this would be most welcome!

    The weather was fine
    And so me and mine
    Went down for a day by the sea
    We piled in the car
    Then we drove very far
    My parents, my siblings and me.

    My Mum had contrived
    That when we’d arrived
    She’d lay out a fine picnic spread
    But she whispered to Dad
    That she’d really be glad
    When we’re all back home safe in our bed

    “Why’s that?” Daddy asked
    As the relish he passed
    And we all grabbed with pushing and shoving
    “The reason,” she said
    “Is that when they’re in bed,
    We can get ourselves some serious loving”

    “That sounds good to me,”
    Said Daddy, with glee,
    “Let’s wear them out, quick as we can.”
    And so he did chase
    Us all over the place
    We ran, and we ran, and we ran.

    Though we started off strong
    Before very long
    We were shattered, my siblings and me.
    That’s when Daddy said
    “Lets all go home to bed.”
    And each one of us did agree.

    That night in our bed
    From what Mummy said
    There must have been some kind of quake
    For next day when we woke up
    Though none of us spoke up
    We knew Mummy felt the earth shake

    It does seem that each
    Time we go to the beach
    Something strange befalls Father and Mother
    Though she tries not to show it
    We blooming-well know it
    We’ll soon have a sister or brother

    • Ha! I couldn’t possibly comment about your mental state while writing this – though I thoroughly enjoyed it 🙂

    • TanGental says:

      that Keith is unbelievable; if he were alive My old dad would have been massively impressed. Fabulous and as to your mental state, well I’d say it was in fine fettle!

      • How very kind; thank you, Geoff.

      • TanGental says:

        It reminded me of the epic humorous poems eg ‘Albert and th horse’s head handle’ that my dad used to recite to us as children. Such a memory jogger. What dad would have loved, as well as the sentiments and the clever rhyming is your perfect scanning. He always maintained that was the most difficult part of poetry.

      • Thank you, Geoff.
        I tend to agree with your dad. Good metre and, to paraphrase Julie Walters’ line from Educating Rita, “getting the rhyme right” are essential. It has to flow well when I read it out loud, too.
        Traditionalist? Definitely. Stick-in-the-mud? Probably that, too.

  5. ddmoonsong says:

    The Sea’s Song

    Churning, turning, ever burning
    Twisting, rolling, always moaning
    Groaning, gurgling, even twerking
    Dancing, sloshing and gyrating

    Spilling shinily on the rocks
    Flecking the air, bathing the docks
    Breathing gassily amidst the pores
    of unknown, unwanted shores

    Spawning fish and hiding mermaids,
    deep within, where no child ever wades
    Tinkling melodies far below abide
    where the sand is not reached by the tide

    Screeching mollusks, roaring sharks
    fluttering ferns and eel-like sparks
    some fish puff, others mutter
    within it’s smothering, searching stutter

    As it embraces all and none,
    below the air, beneath the sun
    the song goes forever on and on
    in its relentless joyful drone

  6. TanGental says:

    Ok here’s mine – sort of extended sonnet…
    Sea Lovers
    (after a sonnet)
    On first sight you are endless; perfection
    A sheet of calm, saturating my dreams
    With slumbering slow breaths; a rising steam
    Clings to you skin, sheered in my reflection.
    I swell in time to your timeless surging
    Carried far away from my cold safe haven
    Fearful at first; my scarred soul still craven
    Until freed by your boundless urgings.
    Close now, familiar, visage uncreased
    By the experiences of years, you’re taunting
    Me with your raw beauty, cruel flaunting.
    Deeper now I sink, washed love unleashed
    Filling undepleted oceans with my sap.
    Blue trumps grey: clarity beats muddle –
    Crisp words left unsaid; minds befuddled:
    Am I adrift? Is there love left to tap?
    Unchecked, you will drown me, sensuous sea lover.
    I blink and turn away – safe, my life is over.

  7. Riley Reed says:

    Here is my contribution, also posted on my blog: https://rileyreedauthor.wordpress.com/2015/06/20/emotional-drowning/

    Emotional Drowning

    There is a storm that rages within me,
    that churns and tosses like an angry sea.
    Waves of emotion battle against my soul,
    till there is nothing left to make me whole.

    The currents pull and push, drag me under,
    beneath the surface, I start to wonder.
    Should I fight against those seething waves?
    Or do I submit and become their slave?

    I see light above the waters surface,
    below is nothing but a dark abyss.
    Yearning to breathe, I fight to swim upwards,
    against the ocean dragging me backwards.

    Breaking the surface, I take a deep breath,
    embracing relief at evading my death.
    Sunlight glistens across a now calm sea,
    I look to the shore, and hope to be free.

    ©2015 Riley Morgan Reed

  8. Here’s my effort. Erm – it’s not quite as humorous as the 10 word stories…
    https://janebasilblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/20/salted-kisses/

  9. somewords4u says:

    A small piece of thought perhaps every body will share it:

    THE LANGUAGE OF THE BLUE
    She will show
    what she feels.
    Just look at her.
    No need to be on your kneels.
    Her expressions say much.
    In different presentations
    different emotions
    she will touch.
    She will come in waves
    like hands she forwards
    as generously inviting
    or cautiously alerting.
    Sometimes like a mother
    she offers small waves
    like tenderness filled caresses.
    Sometimes like a father
    big waves for danger she addresses.
    Her vastness amazes.
    Yet she dwells in hearts
    never dearth of praises.
    In her berth we sway,
    by her side for long
    we want to stay
    and for joyful moments
    she is always the better way.
    She opens her arms,
    as irresistible calls to us
    that creates like spell
    and we fall to her charms.
    Her gifts are many
    yet she never complains
    bearing whatever she receives
    be they good or pains.
    But she deserves much more
    for despite her strength
    she always helps us ashore.
    So she is our mother,
    she is our father
    and caring for her
    should never be a bother.

  10. Steve says:

    I just posted this haiku on Simplicity Lane:

    The call of the sea,
    its roar hounds me; joyful gain.
    Tears from salt water.

    https://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2015/06/23/the-call-of-the-sea-haiku/

  11. JasonMoody77 says:

    I lap the sure
    I taste the land
    I stretch out wide
    And touch the sand

    I sparkle and gleam
    Lit up by the sun
    And when you come close
    I crash, and you run

    On the beach you build castles
    In my embrace you have fun
    Cooled by my waters
    Away from the sun

    You’re sad when you leave
    A return not so certain
    And you wave your goodbyes
    To my watery curtain

Leave a Reply

