Monday Motivations

My Monday motivation for you this week comes in the form of a picture of a little girl praying. Is she praying for the safe return of her dad who’s a soldier? Or perhaps she’s saying a prayer for her sister who’s ill. Why she’s praying, who for and the outcome is up to you, but hopefully you now have some ideas for a story or poem.

thanksgiving-prayer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Motivations

  1. Annika Perry says:

    Lovely touching photo Esther and after just completing the 5 days-5 photos challenge my mind started spinning with ideas on seeing this one. Hmm…better go and write! 🙂

  2. I use photographs for writing prompts and find them helpful. It is one of the reasons Pinterest has many layers to explore. I have a board where I have pinned photographs for writing inspiration. Highly recommend this idea to those who benefit from a prompt now and then. Your example today is perfect. Now let’s see….Emily was kneeling in church between her parents on the first Sunday of summer. She tried praying, but her mind slipped off to the endless days ahead when she was free at last……

  3. somewords4u says:

    Our world is going bad. We all need to pray together with this little girl and have faith. A small poem that perhaps speaks her mind,

    FROM THE EDGE OF THE CLIFF
    Morsels are coming
    in their largest.
    Difficult to even swallow
    let alone to digest.
    As more than ever,
    it’s a fear not a wish,
    that there will be more to test,
    time is coming in a friend disguise
    hiding behind a foe
    where, when and how
    it will make its blow
    perhaps the deadliest.
    It is said
    what we sow
    is what we harvest.
    But why should all suffer
    if only some being irresponsible
    show ignorance to the presence
    of the most obvious pest.
    Who will be our saviour?
    Who will wear the crest?
    We hope for an avatar
    in our prayers, the earnest,
    who will show the answers
    and end our quest
    and this is not a fear but a wish
    that he tells us
    today has been the darkest
    and the distance with all those burden,
    we have already reached the farthest.
    When will he come?
    Will he come or not?
    Only He knows and only to Him
    we can leave the rest.

  4. TanGental says:

    ‘Dear Grandma, mummy says if I pray really hard you’ll hear me. I tried to put your hearing aides in the coffin but daddy said we had to recyle them. Can you hear in heaven without them? If you can does that mean your knees are better too? And do you always have a nice piece of fish for tea? How would they get fish in heaven? Daddy said heaven has everything. Does that mean you’ll have a sherry too, like last Christmas? Daddy says he hopes there’s sherry in heaven or he’ll put in for the other place? I suppose that must be the Rose and Crown. Did you know he was banned? He and uncle Martin had a little spot of bother. Mummy said you’d be angry but they said they were seeing you off properly so I suppose that’s nice, like a big wave. Though Unlce Martin couldn’t really stand so maybe he didnt do the waving and left it to daddy. If you can hear me, I wanted to say thank you for the trinket box which mummy says you left for me but the nice broach with the sparkly stones in it wasn’t there when she gave it to me and mummy said you must have given it to someone else but I saw it in her bedside drawer where she keeps the Christmas presents and that funny rubber thing she said I mustn’t play with or daddy’ll spank me. So I can’t say I’ve seen it and I wondered, if heaven is so wonderful like you said, if you could maybe ask someone to sort of put the broach back in the box? I promise I will be good and do my homework and love mummy and daddy and try and love Timmy and not poke him unless he’s really annoying. I know you like a little nap in front of the TV so I’ll pray tomorrow too if you can help me. I love you lots. Nancy’

Leave a Reply

