Top Tip Of The Week

Dazzling Dialogue

If you’re working on a short story this weekend and can’t find that compelling opening, why not begin your story with a passage of dialogue? It instantly involves the reader and draws him into the story e.g.:

“I hate you. I hope you die!” Stacey pushed David away.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to…I just. I couldn’t help it. We…I…”

See how your interest is piqued and you want to know more.

w583h583_542832-read-through-the-analysis-of-an-argument-prompts
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to…I just. I couldn’t help it.…I…I admit it . . . I ate the entire chocolate brownie fudge pie . . . with whipped cream.”

    Stacey slammed the freezer door. “I hate you. I hope you die from acid indigestion.”

  2. belweir says:

    Hello Esther. I am just starting a flash fiction story and thought I would start it with dialogue. Your tip has confirmed that is what I will do. Thank you. Annie

Leave a Reply

