My Weekly Writing Challenge

For my challenge this week, I’m going to give you a random line, which must be included somewhere in your story. There’s no word limit, so it can be as short or as long as you like. Here’s the line:

I can’t believe I’m actually going to do this, I thought.

For last week’s challenge, you had to write a 20-word story, using the words, ‘fairy’, ‘tomato’, ‘stroppy’, ‘nuzzling’ and ‘astronaut’. There were some hilarious stories:

Judith Westerfield starts us off with two funny stories. Great to see Ali Isaac with a starring role in the second!:

1) Nuzzling the alien Stroppy, the lonely astronaut watched the tomato earth rise. Stroppy comforted him. It’s no fairy-tale in space.

2) Nuzzling the alien Stroppy, astronaut Ali Isaac longed for ripe tomatoes. Stroppy informed her: Writing challenges are all mad fairy-tales.

Geoff Le Pard is far too witty:

Becoming an astronaut was a fairy-tale; but daily tomato soup had him nuzzling the toilet, making him stroppy.

Keith Channing‘s story is a laugh out loud one:

There’s something fundamentally wrong about an astronaut nuzzling up to a stroppy fairy while eating tomato soup in zero gravity!

Jason Moody treats us to four this week:

1) As an astronaut, Tim had seen many things. However, a sentient tomato nuzzling a stroppy fairy? This beat them all.

2) Nuzzling into the cat, the stroppy fairy threw the tomato at the astronaut on his lunch break. As you do.

3) Gabrielle, the trainee astronaut fairy, sat nuzzling her cat. It was almost Doris’ feeding time, she was stroppy. Tomato today!

4)“Houston. You won’t believe this.”

“Buzz?”

“There’s a tomato fairy nuzzling the module.”

“Don’t get stroppy, astronaut!”

“Oh behave, you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Stroppy eyed her lonely astronaut tethered next to her in space. “I can’t believe I’m actually going to do this,” she thought. “Now that we’ve nuzzled it’s time.” She bit cleanly through his safety tether and taking his gloved hand in hers pointed the jet thruster toward home. With a twinkle in her eye and terror in his, they zoomed off into the vacuum of space to meet Mom and Dad.

  2. Ali Isaac says:

    Lol! Fame at last! 😀Thanks Judith!

  3. P.S. Here’s a picture of Stroppy and her Astronaut (Ali Isaac decided not to accompanying them on this particular journey)
    http://judithwesterfield.com/2015/05/07/stroopy-and-the-astronaut-part-ii/

  4. Repent at leisure

    I can’t believe I’m actually going to do this, I thought, as I signed my name at the bottom of the contract.

    That was three weeks ago.

    Three weeks ago, I was certain, positive, resolute about what I wanted. There was no doubt in my mind; none whatever. I had put up with the status quo for fifteen long years and had decided to take it no longer.

    Now, I’m not so sure.

    Now I realise that if I’d spoken about the things that annoyed, upset, distressed and frightened me, instead of keeping them all inside, I may not have ended up where I am today.

    What made me do it? I don’t know. It was probably only a small thing; something that I’d normally shrug off, but as time passed, minor irritations had been festering inside for so long, that they became major issues. As a small crack in the wall of a dam can become a catastrophic fissure under the constant pressure of tidal flow, so the incessant crushing weight of annoyances caused something in my mind to crack. And I paid the money and signed the contract.

    Three weeks later, the contract has been satisfied, the deed done.

    Had I known then what I know now, I would never have signed the paper; never have handed over the money. I wouldn’t now be alone. I would still have a wife.

  5. Wow! A great build-up to the climax, Keith.

  6. Kate Loveton says:

    Hi Esther, I have you to thank for the latest chapter in my Alphabet Soup Stories series. Your line really got me going. I linked to your site. Here’s the link to my story, “C is for Cassandra.” I hope you enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

