My Weekly Writing Challenge

A lot of you certainly had fun with last week’s writing challenge, which was to write a ten-word story, using the words ‘bamboozled’, ‘banoffee’, ‘Horatio’, ‘afro’ and ‘twerk’.  Scroll down to see the hilarious results below.

Now, onto this week’s challenge. This time there’s scope for you to write a longer story (a length of your own choosing) but it must feature the following words: ‘obstinate’, ‘lemon’, ‘diabolical’, ‘guzzling’ and ‘suave’.

As promised, here are last week’s entries:

Sacha Black kicks things off in style:

Horatio’s afro twerked its way to the bamboozled banoffee pie.

Keith Channing delights:

Horatio bamboozled me. His “Afro Banoffee” twerk was just amazing.

Jason Moody beat his record of 16 and managed a fabulous 17!:

1) Horatio, bamboozled after eating banoffee, gave his Afro a twerk.

2) “You twerk, Horatio?”

“Yes.”

“Well twerk my Afro!”

Bamboozled much?

3) “Can’t get my Afro twerk.”

Horatio, bamboozled. “Tried banoffee, perchance?”

4) Banoffee twerk classes. Horatio, bamboozled stroked his Afro. “Sounds good.”

5) Bamboozled Horatio and his Magic Afro twerk. Banoffee after show.

6) His magic Afro twerk bamboozled Horatio. So he ate Banoffee.

7) Horatio’s banoffee bamboozled judges. His Afro and twerk confounded them.

8) A bamboozled Horatio hated banoffee. His Afro and twerk? Adored!

9) Horatio’s banoffee bamboozled his stomach.“Twerk my Afro,” he proclaimed.

10) “Get twerk, Horatio. Bamboozled by banoffee?”

“No. My Afro, Malcolm.”

11) “It won’t twerk.”

“I know, Horatio. An Afro bamboozled banoffee!”

12) “Afro-Twerk, Horatio!”

“Why?”

“To win banoffee!”

“What? I’m bamboozled.”

13) Horatio did a twerk, bamboozled. His Afro was banoffee coloured.

14) Twerk. Horatio did. Bamboozled, he was. Banoffee eaten. Afro combed.

15) “Banoffee, with Afro, did a twerk?”

“Your bamboozled, Horatio?”

“Yes.”

16) “A bamboozled banoffe Afro followed you twerk?”

“Yes,” said Horatio.

17) Afro banoffee? Horatio did what he did when bamboozled. Twerk.

Geoff Le Pard always delivers a belter of an entry:

Bamboozled by the twerk, Horatio’s Afro ended in the banoffee.

It’s great to see Ula join in this week with two highly entertaining entries and one of them also uses one of last week’s words!:

1) Afro-wearing, twerking Horatio bamboozled the clerk; stole the banoffee pie.

2) The Afro banoffee twerk bamboozled poor Horatio into discombobulating contortions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Watching her methodically sucking the lemon until all that was left was rind and two seeds, I knew she was obstinate, just the kinda gal a suave man like me needs. She looked up, slowly, looked straight into my eyes, her lips swollen and puckered from guzzling the tart juice, a diabolical ploy to suck me in.

  2. The sequel to the prequel (see Sacha’s Writespiration 37)

    I was rather upbeat when I returned to the staff room to let the team know how my meeting with John had gone.

    “You’re looking pleased with yourself, mate,” my sound man, Hank, said.

    “Sure am,” I replied, “That obstinate old sod thinks he got one over on me again. Standing there all suave and cool, he told me there was no way I could have a crew of thirty for this job.”

    “You told him you wanted a crew of thirty?” Beki asked, interrupting her guzzling and nearly spilling the most diabolical-looking orange-pink cocktail I had ever seen.

    “Sure,” I replied.

    “What were you thinking?” she asked.

    “I was thinking, Beki, that if I asked for thirty, I should get ten; with luck, maybe a dozen or more.”

    “Oh, for God’s sake,” she said, handing me a slice of lemon from the edge of her glass, “suck on this and get that stupid grin off your face!”

    “Now let’s get down to putting together the real plan,” I said to the group, treating Beki to my most angelic smile.

  3. Sacha Black says:

    ok, cheated a little with lemon… but you didn’t say it couldn’t be part of a longer word!

    The Office by Sacha Black

    “He’s suave alright Lisa. Just look at those eyes. Corr, I could spend all night guzzling him up.”

    Lisa slapped her hand to her mouth choked as she snorted lemonade through her nostril. It dribbled on to the office desk and I stifled a laugh.

    “You’re diabolical Anne,” she said giggling, “he’s really not all that. beside he’s at least half your age.”

    “Oh shut up, you miserable old tart. Can’t a girl dream?” I smirked and gave her a filthy look.

    Lisa rolled her eyes, “Don’t be so obstinate, he’s vile, his hairs greasy, his beards longer than my ponytail and he dresses like my grandfather.”

    “It’s called fashion, Lisa. F.A.S.H.I.O.N.”

  4. Steve says:

    I posted the following, fun to write, 109 word story on Simplicity Lane.
    https://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/three-posts-in-one/

    The customer said that it was absolutely diabolical that children should be allowed to charge so much for lemonade. “Such wicked childhood behavior can only lead to spoiled adults!” The two young lads watched as the man, guzzling his third drink to the last drop, tossed a few more coins into the collection box. Turning from the lemonade stand, the customer offered one last word of advice, “I should warn you that being obstinate to even the most rudimentary cultural values will not produce a suave gentleman like moi-même;” and then he used his shirt sleeve to wipe away some stray drops of the lemon liquid from his chin.

  5. TanGental says:

    Following Sacha’s lead on rule breaking here we have…
    The demon drink
    ‘I defy you to appear suave when guzzling one of Mark’s diabolically potent lemon Campari’s,’ said Jimmy, obstinately.
    I didn’t believe him but he was right; two sips and I face-planted a steaming pile of Brown Labrador doo-doos. Each smelt appalling but they both had the same distinctive aftertaste…

  6. Pingback: Writing Challenge Entries #7 | Sacha Black

Leave a Reply

