My Weekly Writing Challenge

Last week’s challenge was a teeny tiny one inviting entries of only 20 words. You amazed me with your creativity and how you managed to craft a proper story in so few words. Enjoy reading the results below.

On Monday I set a Challenge Special: can you write a short story, where the first sentence starts with A, the next B and so on, right throuigh to Z? I gave you an example but I wasn’t sure if anyone would be keen to take it up. Well, you certainly have and I love the results so far. So please have a go at this one if you haven’t already. See the following link for further details if you’d like to give it a go: https://esthernewtonblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/16/monday-motivationscan-you-write-a-story-from-a-z/

If that feels a bit too much, or if you’ve already entered but would like an easier challange, this week’s usual Weekly Challenge is for a story of only 10 words. I say easy. Is a story in 10 words really easy? You tell me! Or even better, you show me!

Now here are the 20 worders from last week:

Peter Wells wrote this very clever story:

I waited for my love’s call at midnight as arranged but it never came: A romance destroyed by time-difference.

Sacha Black sent in an uplifting tale:

I’d always been terrified of flying. Fear would paralyse me. Until a kind stranger held my hand. I married him.

It’s great to welcome Keith Channing back with this chiller:

Fifteen lifetimes she has waited to meet her foe. He will keep, but tonight, she has other demons to face.

Maria Wilhelmsson sent in a story we writers hope happens to us:

She sat at her desk, waiting, the cursor blinking furiously. Suddenly, like bees drawn to honey, her story’s found within.

Geoff Le Pard sent in this super story:

‘Not a clue, officer.’ He dropped the bag. ‘Mint.’ They both watched as the head rolled out. ‘Perhaps later, sir.’

***
inspirational-quotes-3_zps809af04c
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Sacha Black says:

    Hahahaha Geoff!! Nearly spat my drink out!

  2. The meteorite fell without warning. Not a single soul survived.

  3. Jane Risdon says:

    Looks like a lot of fun – enjoyed them a lot.

  4. Ooh that’s tricky. I’ll have to chew that over

  5. JasonMoody77 says:

    In the beginning, there was light.
    Turn it off!

  6. Sacha Black says:

    Ok, here goes:

    “Push harder.”

    “Aaargh, I can’t.”

    “Nearly there…”

    “It’s a Boy.”

  7. JasonMoody77 says:

    “Rome.”

    “And?”

    “Beautiful.”

    “True. Took ages to build.”

    “Day, no?”

  8. JasonMoody77 says:

    “What have you done to my cookie?”

    “So that’s crumbling!”

  9. TanGental says:

    Begin slow, raise the stakes and end with a twist.

  10. My gosh, these are good! This was a real challenge. Here is my little story.

    She gasped with relief. Her son had survived the massacre.

  11. JasonMoody77 says:

    “Look out. Asteroid!”

    “It’s not the end of the world.”

  12. JasonMoody77 says:

    He came. He sawed. He’d ruined the wife’s new kitchen.

  13. JasonMoody77 says:

    Dark eyes stared at me.

    “I must clean this mirror.”

  14. JasonMoody77 says:

    Woman created beautiful things.

    Man concurred.

    The world was right.

  15. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Awesome stories…amazing writers…a big applause….

  16. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Lorene collapsed. Leaving her worries behind, she flew to freedom.

  17. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Monica alienated her first date. She shouldn’t have taken neat.

Leave a Reply

