Monday Motivations/Can You Write A Story From A-Z?

Here’s a Monday Motivation Challenge Special: can you write a short story, where the first sentence starts with A, the next B and so on, right throuigh to Z? It’ll certainly blow the weekend cobwebs away!

Here’s mine for you:

Another wet day dawns to blight our much needed holiday. Black clouds hang heavily in the sky. Carefully zipping up our waterproofs, we don Wellington boots. Despite the stinging rain we step outside.

Emerging into the wet, we hold hands. Falteringly at first, we trudge along the farm track. Glancing at each other, we laugh at the rain. Having spent the last few years tending sick, elderly parents we savour our freedom.

Invalidity came suddenly to John’s Dad following a stroke. Jailed by his inability to move or speak, his life was hard. Kindness and care were administered profusely. Leisure had become a forgotten commodity. My widowed mother then developed Alzheimer’s disease. Needing constant attendance, we had nursed them until first Dad and then Mum had passed away.

Our grieving over, we turn to each other. Painful memories are abating. Quietly we make plans for our future together.

Reaching the end of the track we pass through the gate. Scenic views emerge from across the bay. The rain is stopping. Underfoot, the cliff top path glistens. Vestiges of sunshine are escaping from the clouds. We marvel at the resulting brightness. Xanthos yellow flowers along the pathway mirror the sun. Yachts skim across the water. Zephyr breezes herald joyous days ahead.

***

jumpstart-monday-motivational-quotes-the-sykes-group39s-onpoint

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Monday Motivations/Can You Write A Story From A-Z?

  1. Steve says:

    Bravo!

  2. Sacha Black says:

    OMG I bow at your feet of genius! I may… or may not attempt this lets see how brave I feel! :p

  3. TanGental says:

    The A to Z of travel

    After two hundred yards, turn left.
    ‘Betty, does that phone know we need to get a move on?’
    Continue to the next crossroads.
    ‘Don’t you think I’m trying to hurry?’
    Effect a right turn.
    ‘Flipping, heck, whoever says ‘effect’ these days?’
    ‘Give yourself a minute, Betty.’
    ‘Harriet, I’m trying…’
    ‘I know, love, but the show.’
    ‘Just be patient, Betty, ok?’
    Keep right.
    ‘Maybe we should ask someone, Betty?’
    ‘Not now, Harriet…’
    ‘Of course, if you’re sure?’
    ‘Please Harriet, you aren’t helping.’
    ‘Quite what you have against asking the way, Betty…’
    Right at the next fork.
    ‘Suppose we try him?’
    ‘That spotty youth?’
    ‘Unless you have a better idea?’
    ‘Virtually anything is better than asking him.’
    ‘Well what do you suggest?’
    ‘X-ray specks?’
    ‘You know what our chances are of being on time?’
    ‘Zero.’

  4. Sacha Black says:

    Right. You know what my grammar is like. So I probably failed the task on sentence structuring!! But I gave it a damn good go anyway!

    Ps. I have no idea if it’s princesses or princess’s hahaha!

    Death to the Princess’s By Sacha Black

    A long time ago in a land far far away there live a hundred princess’s, trapped by an evil queen.

    “Beautiful princesses I think not,” the evil queen cried, “they shall never rule in my lands.”

    “Couldn’t you reconsider your highness? The population grows smaller by the day,” shaking, the lowly servant bowed before her.

    “Don’t be ridiculous, I don’t want the land filled with flowers and frills and all things nice.”

    “Flowers help our food to grow, we need them.”

    “Get out, Harold, unless you are with me, you are against me.”

    “Harry, your highness. It’s Harry.”

    “Just because you have worked for me for a decade don’t think I won’t punish your insolence.”

    “King’s on his way ma’am,” Harry said making a hasty retreat.

    “Louise, my dearest queen, I’ve missed you,” said the king.

    “Manage to secure the Knights for the next mission?”

    “No, I’m afraid not, my dear.”

    “Oh, that IS a shame. Particularly because I have done my part in this evil plan.”

    “Quite. Really there’s no need for bragging though, I shall have them organised soon enough.”

    “Should hope so too.” The queen reached for the vile of poison on the desk and her lips curled into a menacing smile.

    “Unnatural deaths for the princesses then?”

    Violence flashed through her eyes. X-ray vision seeing dozens of bloody princess deaths in the future.

    “You will join me my king, and we shall be victorious reigning in our dark land.”

    Zigzagging across the room the king swirled the queen arounds in his arms and they cackled the night away.

    • Sacha Black says:

      They need a bloody edit button on wordpress TAKE TWO

      A long time ago in a land far far away there live a hundred princess’s, trapped by an evil queen.

      “Beautiful princesses I think not,” the evil queen cried, “they shall never rule in my lands.”

      “Couldn’t you reconsider your highness, the population grows smaller by the day,” shaking, the lowly servant bowed before her.

      “Don’t be ridiculous, I don’t want the land filled with flowers and frills and all things nice.”

      “Flowers help our food to grow, we need them.”

      “Get out, Harold, unless you are with me, you are against me.”

      “Harry, your highness. It’s Harry.”

      “Just because you have worked for me for a decade don’t think I won’t punish your insolence.”

      “King’s on his way ma’am,” Harry said making a hasty retreat.

      “Louise, my dearest queen, I’ve missed you,” said the king.

      “Manage to secure the Knights for the next mission?”

      “No, I’m afraid not, my dear.”

      “Oh, that IS a shame. Particularly because I have done my part in this evil plan.”

      “Quite. Really there’s no need for bragging though, I shall have them organised soon enough.”

      “Should hope so too.” The queen reached for the vile of poison on the desk and her lips curled into a menacing smile.

      “Unnatural deaths for the princesses then?”

      Violence flashed through her eyes. X-ray vision seeing dozens of bloody princess deaths in the future.

      “You will join me my king, and we shall be victorious reigning in our dark land.”

      Zigzagging across the room the king swirled the queen arounds in his arms and they cackled the night away.

      • Sacha Black says:

        FFFFFFFFFS this is what happens when your tired.

        A long time ago in a land far far away there live a hundred princess’s, trapped by an evil queen.

        “Beautiful princesses I think not,” the evil queen cried, “they shall never rule in my lands.”

        “Couldn’t you reconsider your highness, the population grows smaller by the day,” shaking, the lowly servant bowed before her.

        “Don’t be ridiculous, I don’t want the land filled with flowers and frills and all things nice.”

        “Flowers help our food to grow, we need them.”

        “Get out, Harold, unless you are with me, you are against me.”

        “Harry, your highness. It’s Harry.”

        “Just because you have worked for me for a decade don’t think I won’t punish your insolence.”

        “King’s on his way ma’am,” Harry said making a hasty retreat.

        “Louise, my dearest queen, I’ve missed you,” said the king.

        “Manage to secure the Knights for the next mission?”

        “No, I’m afraid not, my dear.”

        “Oh, that IS a shame. Particularly because I have done my part in this evil plan.”

        “Quite. Really, there’s no need for bragging though, I shall have them organised soon enough.”

        “Should hope so too.” The queen reached for the vile of poison on the desk her lips curling into a menacing smile.

        “Unnatural deaths for the princesses then?”

        Violence flashed through her eyes. X-ray vision seeing dozens of bloody princess deaths in the near future.

        “You will join me my king, and we shall be victorious reigning in our dark land.”

        Zigzagging across the room the king swirled the queen around in his arms and they cackled the night away.

  5. I love this, Nica. Absolutely brilliant for that time in the morning!!!! Though you must have been tired as you missed the ‘E’ and ‘W’!

  6. Sacha Black says:

    hahaha oh dear total fail, have edited it again and popped it below. I literally wrote it in bed right before i went to sleep – so its no surprise I couldnt remember the alphabet! although i think its hilarious that i forgot not one but two letters!! For some reason, I dont get any notifications that you have replied to me any more 😦 its only that I checked that I saw your reply.

    A long time ago in a land far far away there live a hundred princess’s, trapped by an evil queen.

    “Beautiful princesses I think not,” the evil queen cried, “they shall never rule in my lands.”

    “Couldn’t you reconsider your highness, the population grows smaller by the day,” shaking, the lowly servant bowed before her.

    “Don’t be ridiculous, I don’t want the land filled with flowers and frills and all things nice. Everything has to be dark Harold, dark and fuelled by magic.”

    “Flowers help our food to grow, we need them.”

    “Get out, Harold, unless you are with me, you are against me.”

    “Harry, your highness. It’s Harry.”

    “Just because you have worked for me for a decade, don’t think I won’t punish your insolence.”

    “King’s on his way ma’am,” Harry said making a hasty retreat.

    “Louise, my dearest queen, I’ve missed you,” said the King.

    “Manage to secure the Knights for the next mission?”

    “No, I’m afraid not, my dear.”

    “Oh, that IS a shame. Particularly because I have done my part in this evil plan.”

    “Quite. Really, there’s no need for bragging though, I shall have them organised soon enough.”

    “Should hope so too.” The queen reached for the vile of poison on the desk her lips curling into a menacing smile.

    “Unnatural deaths for the princesses then?”

    Violence flashed through her eyes. Wry smiles adorned both their mouths. X-ray vision hazed their vison with dozens of bloody princess deaths.

    “You will join me my King, and we shall be victorious reigning in our dark land.”

    Zigzagging across the room the King swirled the queen around in his arms and they cackled the night away.

    • Great – I just like to keep you on your toes 😉

    • TanGental says:

      Smart stuff, especially given the hour you started. And, if it matters, it is princesses ie more than one princess rather than belong to the princess! Just saying. Call me an old fart. Actually don’t call me that just now given the medication, it’s a bit close… Anyway you know what I mean.

      • Sacha Black says:

        It does matter im shit with grammar – never taught it in school so I just don’t know these things. And even when I do get told it’s like in one ear out the other I just can’t seem to remember the detail of grammar!

        But thanks, I’ll take the smart stuff comment – even if it is from and old far… 😝

      • TanGental says:

        Hold your breath….

  7. Steve says:

    Influenced by this writing challenge, I just posted an A to Z list of odd/unusual words on Simplicity Lane.
    https://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/how-odd-an-a-to-z-list/

  8. JasonMoody77 says:

    This was fun…

    All it was, was a date. Better to find out, than to spend my life wondering. Casually, I sit at the bar. Don’t look about I tell myself, you’ll look desperate. Everybody in here is coupled up, this is awkward. Fumbling for my phone, I must look nervous. Gotta keep calm. Hold onto yourself. It’s just a girl.

    Jesus, this is nerve wracking. Killing me, the waiting, it’s killing me. Last look up. My God, she’s here. Nobody’s looking at me, that’s good.
    Olivia I think she said her name was. Palms are sweaty now, she’s going to love that. Question is, what can I do about it? Rub my palms on my jacket. Saved.

    Telling fiddle with the hair, she’s nervous too. Unbelievable, this girl has agreed to meet me? Very low standards I imagine. Why would any woman date this? Xylophone sounds emirate from my pocket. You have to be kidding me?
    “Zoe, I can’t talk right now, I’m on a date!”

  9. Great stories here! I’m still working on mine…

Leave a Reply

