Top Tip Of The Week

Don’t lose heart

So, you’ve slaved over a competition entry and you’re satisfied it’s your very best work. You enter it into the competition and nervously await the results – only to find out you’re not amongst the winners. Perhaps you’re not even on the longlist let alone the shortlist. How do you feel? Disheartened?  Ready to throw your story away? Vow never to enter a competition again?

I’ve gone through and felt all those things. But there’s hope. I recently entered a story into a flash fiction competition. It came absolutely nowhere. But I liked my story so I didn’t alter it and entered it into another competition. First I saw my name on the long list, then the short list before it was awarded second place.

It just goes to show how subjective writing competitions are. A similar thing has happened before. A judge slated my story. That same story, untouched, went on to win a different competition.

Have a brilliant weekend. Here’s a Friday Funny for you:

407889_242727289134654_126894987384552_562252_1992663239_n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. Sherri says:

    This is so encouraging, thank you Esther! You have a great weekend too 🙂

  2. It goes to show that a lot depends on who’s judging your writing…not only who but when as well. I’m happy for you that you persevered and especially without changing the story. We have to believe in ourselves. Have a Happy Weekend, Esther. 🙂

  3. TanGental says:

    I suppose I ought to think about entering competitions. I’ve always shied away before. Thank you for the encouragement.

  4. mihrank says:

    powerful, encouraging!!

  5. Opinions differ, and it’s great to be read by those who ‘get’ you. Congratulations on your success.

Leave a Reply

