Celebrate The Small Stuff Part Two!

Last week, I wrote about looking back over your writing achievements and recognising how far you’ve come.

This week, it’s the turn of the photo. It’s always good to look back over photos. They bring back an explosion of memories, some happy, some sad. I found a photo of my lovely grandad last week. He died nearly seven years ago. In that time, I’ve finished a degree, become a regular writer for a number of magazines, had a book published as well as several other achievements. So, on the one hand I’ve come a long way, but on the other hand, how he would have loved to share in those achievements. But, while I was looking through my old photos, I came across this one. It was taken in Harrogate, when I collected my award at the annual ‘Writing Magazine/Writers’ News’ prize giving. I met the wonderful author, Danielle Shaw, who gave me such words of advice and encouragement. It was a special day and one I’ll always remember. It took place nearly ten years ago now, so that was one happy memory grandad was very much a part of. He wanted to know all about it and I’m sure somehow, he knows about all the other stuff, too.

But, as well as looking at photos to reminisce, they can spark ideas for an article, story or poem. Some of them may also be ideal to use to accompany an article you’ve written. Then, of course, there are numerous opportunites in the women’s weeklies for photos of family celebrations, pets, children etc.

So dig out your photos, reminisce, celebrate and use!

photos 045

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Celebrate The Small Stuff Part Two!

  1. Sacha Black says:

    love this, im celebrating two things this week, the author of a bok i just wrote about somehow found my blog and thanked me! i about fell off my seat at work!! Also one of my fave authors agreed to an interview! SO excited for their responses. what a lovely photo – first prize too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. teachezwell says:

    That’s a super photo and such a special occasion. You look so gracious and relaxed. We used to visit Harrogate quite often, back in the 60’s. I probably wouldn’t recognize it.

  3. frenchc1955 says:

    Thank you for the post and for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

