Celebrate the Small Stuff!

As writers, we’re often very self-critical. We’re always looking forward and thinking about what we haven’t achieved yet, instead of thinking about how far we’ve come. I’ve kept a record book of every piece of writing I’ve ever sent out. It’s been good to go back over it and to see the successes I’ve forgotten about and all that I’ve learned since. Yes, there are plenty of rejections; that’s part of being a writer, and we need to acknowledge these, but we also need to celebrate how far we’ve come.

Even if you haven’t been published yet, look back at earlier pieces of writing. You’ll see a difference, whether you’ve built on your descriptive skills over the months, can now create realistic dialogue, a more structured story/article, or if you’ve succeeded in lessening the amount of errors in your work.

My mother recently found an old school book of mine, from when I was six years old. I think I can safely say my story writing has improved, even if it’s just making sure everything links together. I’m not quite sure what David and Goliath had to do with my cat, but obviously something in my six-year-old mind!

015You don’t need to go back as far as this, but celebrate your successes and achievements however small.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celebrate the Small Stuff!

  1. TanGental says:

    I thought it must be your weekly prompt, Esther!

  2. Sacha Black says:

    So true, I started a log when I started the course, not much on it at the moment, four rejections, and one still waiting. Not bothered by the rejections so much as the numbers of actual submissions are so low! its so hard writing for a specific audience! wish i could just write what I want all the time. Think this is a good tip though, to celebrate the small stuff. I don’t think I EVER do that. great reminder, although i might still find it hard! haha.

  3. That’s adorable! ❤

  4. teachezwell says:

    This is just too precious! I am so thankful that your mom saved your work! It has such a lack of self-consciousness. Oh, to be that way all the time.

  5. Ramesh says:

    Thats real cute!

Leave a Reply

