It’s A Sign!

Well, I have to admit to feeling a little nervous about my first book signing. Would anyone turn up, or would I be sitting there twiddling my thumbs for hours on end?

Of course we all dream of people queuing for miles down the road, keen to buy our book and to ask us to pen them a special message inside, but the reality is a little different – unless you’re a celebrity. Mary Berry recently visited our town department store and faced a queue right down the high street and beyond, all clamoring to meet her and to buy her latest book. So, my first foray into the world of book signing wasn’t quite like that, but thankfully neither was I sitting there begging people to buy my book.

I also took something else away from the day; in between signings, I people watched. It never ceases to amaze me all the different characters that make up the world. It was fascinating to hear snippets of conversation, to see different mannerisms and actions and to talk to people from all walks of life. I came away with lots of ideas for stories and characters to feature in them.

The icing on the cake was when I arrived home to find out I’ve won a prize in a short story competition. So, although The Siege and Other Award Winning Stories hasn’t been out for long, it looks like there will be a follow-up sometime soon.

***

tumblr_n70jdhtcex1sag14uo1_500

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s A Sign!

  1. …and I, for one, shall look forward to seeing it.

  2. b8hg says:

    Well done, Esther, from Francesca.

  3. Bumba says:

    Good news. Lotsa luck!

  4. That’s great, Esther

  5. Congratulations. Keep it up!

  6. kcg1974 says:

    Congratulations. SO happy for you!!! πŸ™‚

  7. JasonMoody77 says:

    I hope it all went well Esther. Looking forward to my copy in the post!

  8. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Great! Heaps of good wishes for future!

  9. TanGental says:

    Hope you get the most awful cramp signing all those copies!

  10. Congratulations on winning the short story comp and best of luck with your book signing.

  11. Sherri says:

    Congratulations on the book signing and the short story win Esther…so very encouraging πŸ™‚ x

  12. Phen Weston says:

    Congratulations my friend, if you’re ever signing in Devon let me know.

  13. Kate Loveton says:

    Congrats, Esther. I think you’re a wonderful writer. I love your short stories.

  14. marjma2014 says:

    Congratulations on the book signing, and your short story too. All the best. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

