My Weekly Writing Challenge

We’re creeping higher – this week I’m looking for 70-word stories. Last week, I asked you to top the brilliance of the 50-word stories from the week before. You all certainly did your utmost to. Here are the the 60-word stories you’ve been sending in over the past week:

Andrew was inspired to write in straight away and sent in this gem:

We didn’t ask for names or clear faces as we held hands, and walked across the water as the cars rushed past us; we sat down at our table and as the waiter walked past with a dirty plate of brown rice I asked to have it. My dream-lover smiled and joined me in appetite. Batman’s butler watched in disgust.

Geoff Le Pard knows how to write an entertaining story:

‘One hour, one million or one body part.’

‘I can’t raise it that quickly.’

‘Yes you can. Don’t you want your husband back whole?’

‘When you say a ‘body part’ what do you mean? A limb?’

‘Geez. Look put it this way: get me the money or there’ll be no romantic nights for you two.’

‘It’ll take me two hours.’

Jason Moody sent in a trio of delights:

1) “I said no,” yelled Michelle.

“But why not, Mum?” said Max.

Michelle slammed the cereal box on the counter. “I’ve had about enough of your whining.”

Max muttered under his breath. With that, Michelle turned, her face reddening.

“Will you just drop it, Max, please.”

Max huffed. Loud enough that his Mum would hear.

“Why can’t you forgive, Dad?”

2) The two of them sat opposite each other. Neither looked like they would move. Henry wasn’t one for backing down, and Madeline was no shrinking violet.

It seemed like forever as the two of them simply stared straight at each other. Something had to give. This couldn’t go on forever.

Madeline shuffled, then licked her paw. She meowed.

Cats.

3) “When you agreed to my terms, you knew it would come at a price, Justin. Don’t forget that,” said Balthazar.

He enjoyed repeating this. He would do it often. To keep me in line. As much as I hated to admit it, he owned me. I hated that. I hated him.

“No, sir,” I said, my tone resigned.

Keith Channing‘s story was certainly worth the wait. And it’s a true story to boot!:

She spent every day quite alone.

“She will be happier with company,” they said.

She had always been good, never destructive, always clean.

Her campaign had started with a little bit of damage here and there. When that didn’t work, she pulled her ace card, she messed on their best carpet.

That did the trick; she’s on her own again.

Jasdeep Kaur’s is simply brilliant:

Concocted

Thunderstruck, I looked at her horrendous face as she made her way through the dimly lit passage. It was not merely the lour blazing her blued lips, the reddened eye lids, or the blackened teeth, but the mess that had actually unmanned me.

“Gosh,” I screamed at my daughter, “what on the earth made you paint yourself like this, Isla?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Sacha Black says:

    DAMN IT. I missed a week again. Why do weeks go so fast…. Right…. 70 words, *scratches head*

  2. Two birds with one stone this week – I was struggling to respond to my own challenge at Keith Creates this week (how’s that for an epic fail?). This quick and dirty 70-worder will address both, although neither of them very well, and it probably won’t make sense without the image:

    “Please, mister, can you fix me bike?”
    “What’s up wi’it?”
    “Brakes don’t work.”
    The repair man saw that they just needed adjusting, which he did.
    “I blame your da,” he said.
    “‘ows that?”
    “He said once you get started on’t there’ll be no stopping you. He were damn near right, too.”
    “How much for fixing it?”
    “Nowt, lad.”
    “You sure?”
    “Positive. Unlike a rhino, I don’t charge wi’out good cause.”

  3. mihrank says:

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving! Hoping your Thanksgiving is filled with blessings and joy. We convey our blessings to you and your loved ones on this Thanksgiving day.

  4. Sacha Black says:

    Here you go, moderate cheating I’m two words over….

    “She can’t be microchipped Frank. She cant,” I shrieked tearing at his shirt. Cold sweat trickled down my back, “don’t let her be born into this, I’m begging you.”

    “Lily honey…” Frank said pushing my soaked fringe out of my face, “if we hide her from the authority we can never stop running. She will never be free.”

    “If the authority chip her, you are cursing her to their system. To enslavement.”

  5. JasonMoody77 says:

    Here goes seventy.

    David cracked open a can of beer and sipped.
    Tomorrow was the big day and his best mate Carl was due over any second.
    His bottom had barely touched the sofa when the doorbell chimed.
    “Come in mate, doors open,” he shouted.
    No answer. After a short while, he went to the door and opened it. His body shivered.
    “Mr Saunders?” the young officer asked.
    David nodded. The officer smiled.

  6. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen or who was at the door. An intriguing one, which holds the reader’s interest until the end 🙂

  7. JasonMoody77 says:

    And another…

    “You did what?” Olly shouted.

    Magpie shuffled nervously. “I didn’t think it..”

    Olly drew his hand over his face.

    “No, you didn’t. Christ Maggie. Have you any idea what you’ve just started?”

    Maggie grimaced, close to tears.
    In an instant, Olly softened. He placed his hand on he’d shoulder.

    “I didn’t mean to shout. Look, well just tell them it was a mistake,ok?”

    “Mistake eh?” A voice whispered.

  8. JasonMoody77 says:

    I’m so greedy, one more!

    “New York will burn. It’s towers of plenty and streets of dreams will wither and die. Man will truly see how insignificant a creation they are..”

    He shifted his stance, arms extended.

    “And when all is lost, when your great city lies in ruins, when you plead for death, then, then you will know what it is to feel pain..”

    The bathroom door squeaked.

    “Dinner Malcolm,” a woman’s voice whispered.

  9. Lynn Bissett says:

    Hi Esther, I would like to enter this week’s writing challenge and attach my effort – based on a conversation I actually did hear on the bus the other day!

    Regards, Lynn

    Date: Thu, 27 Nov 2014 15:27:36 +0000 To: lscottb@hotmail.co.uk

  10. Ooh, I’m not surprised you were creeping yourself out. Very chilling! Thank you, Jenny 🙂

  11. ddmoonsong says:

    Ok nice idea, gonna try and do this! Here’s 70 words!

    Eyes blue with sky, hands clasped against the wind, pleated skirts already flying. Waiting for that special second.

    Steps crunch hurriedly against the dark rooftop ‘Are you friggin kidding me? You don’t have the balls bitches’ comes the sniggering denial.

    We smile, aware of our undisclosed power. Forever secret. Forever ours. Twin-like dribbles of spittle smudge harlot-red lipstick. A little lick and…

    JUMP!

    The pavement soars in a violent kiss.

  12. JasonMoody77 says:

    One more. Last one, I promise! 😉

    One moment. In the blink of an eye. As quick as a flash.
    Measure it however you like, but that’s all it takes for everything to change. The Doctor spoke again.

    “This type of cancer…”

    I stopped listening. I zoned out. It wasn’t necessarily a death sentence, but it felt that way. What would I tell Anabelle? The kids? The dog? Spike would never understand.

    So begins my new life.

    Great.

  13. TanGental says:

    The sign said ‘Thermal beach’. The picture showed a smiling family covered in steaming grey sand. Mona and Martin changed under their towels.
    ‘Lucky aren’t we? Having the place to ourselves.’
    Martin was too busy to reply. In seconds he buried himself in the steaming sand. ‘This is awesome.’
    Mona joined in, purring.
    So entranced were they, they missed the tendrils wrapping around their ankles until it was too late.

  14. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Where’s the Hell?

    He tottered, his bones conspicuous from his waxen skin, his tongue lying lifeless on his puckered lips, his brooding eyes searching each corner where his feeble feet could take him.

    His eyes gleamed as he staggered towards the garbage bin. His frail fingers rummaged the litter for a particle of food. There was none. He collapsed exhausted and hopeless with the requisite to pass one more day of his life.

Leave a Reply

