My Weekly Writing Challenge

Last week in my weekly challenge series, we moved on to 30-word stories. This certainly gave some of you scope for more of a story. So next week, we naturally push forward to 40-word stories. Here is one of mine. Hope it makes you smile:

He couldn’t believe she had done it again. If he had known she kept losing things he would never have married her. First it was one of her slippers and now her crown. Prince Charming shook his head at Cinderella.

Now here are last week’s treats for you:

Keith Channing‘s story will have you reaching for the tissues:

The last time he saw his father he was five. Now, every time he sees a funeral procession moving past, he thinks of the father he never got to know.

Jason Moody sent in several scintillating stories:

1) “I do,” I utter. Megan’s smile lights the room. Applause. Momentarily, I catch Sandra’s eye, and my heart freezes. Fool. I smile. I run to Sandra. What am I doing?

2) I was dead. Pretty humbling. I stared out across the endless whiteness. Suddenly, a woman handed me a form and a pen. So began my afterlife.

3)“You want me to burn it?” I shouted.
Sandra looked at me. “I know we were stupid to marry. But divorce?”
We were eighteen when Isaac was born.

4) My hands groped at the inky blackness. My heart close to bursting. My body reverberated with pain. Just kill me. I shuddered as he whispered, “Time’s up, Jenny.”

Jasdeep Kaur‘s story is hauntingly atmospheric:

Final Destiny

Squealing winds shoved the porch swing ahead, the creaks wistfully seeping into my kaput heart. A shadow from the gravel backroad eclipsed me and took me to the eventual realm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Sacha Black says:

    Wait what? How did I miss the 30 word challenge?! #FAIL….. Stand by for 40 words!

  2. “Write a story using just forty words,” she said.
    “It’s not possible,” I replied, “It’s November, and that means NaNoWriMo. Fifty thousand words must be written.”
    Then I remembered what I owed her and relented. What choice did I have?

  3. Steve says:

    I guess the Prince forgot ‘if the shoe fits…’

  4. Sacha Black says:

    Ok, here’s mine – partly because u wrote about cinders, but also because I think I might end up using this as a short story:

    “What do you mean Peter Pans evil?”

    “Exactly that. He’s REAL and he’s EVIL.”

    “It’s a kids book Jake.”

    “Listen. It’s real. He’s real. It’s not called Neverland because of lost children. It’s called Neverland because you never return….”

  5. TanGental says:

    One Viking planted his seed. It lay dormant through generations until it was time. A boy was born with vibrant red hair and green eyes. He sung like an angel. He won Eurovision in Copenhagen. The Viking had returned home.

  6. Steve says:

    No entry for this week; however, your challenge sparked an idea for my flash fiction post “In So Many Words”. Thank you Esther.

    http://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2014/11/09/in-so-many-words-150-word-flash-fiction/

  7. JasonMoody77 says:

    Hey Esther. Sorry, but I’ve gone a bit crazy this week. Hope that’s ok.

    Jack and Jill ran up the hill, to fetch a pail of water. Jack fell down, and broke his crown.
    Jill whipped out her mobile, as fast as she could.
    “Hello. Is that NHS direct?”

    Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall. Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. All the kings horses and all the King’s men, couldn’t put Humpty together again. However, scrambled egg was on the menu again. The soldiers cheered!

    The beloved King was dying. He lay on his bed, gaunt and thin.
    The wicked prince forced out another crocodile tear and leant in. The old King croaked.
    “You will not be King,” he smiled.
    With that, he died.

    “Someone’s eaten my porridge,” the little bear cried.
    “Someone’s slept in my bed,” said Mummy bear.
    “Never mind that. Who’s taken my bloody paper?” Growled Daddy bear. With that, he stormed out, slamming the door.

    Men.

    Little Bo Peep had lost her sheep. She didn’t know where to find them.
    She sighed, and reached into her designer handbag, pulling out a copy of Hello.
    “Ooooh,” she cooed, reading the front cover.

    It was the moment the entire family was dreading. They were all gathered around their Mothers bed.
    A middle aged woman nodded. A young man cleared his throat.
    “Scream, as soon as you see her,” he whispered.”

    My heart pounded as he kissed me. Every part of my being tingled. His soft lips caressing mine. Was I in love? Did he love me?
    A sudden thought stabbed at my mind. How could I do this to My wife?

    The sun rose, and kissed the horizon for the first time in years. Folk ventured out from their hiding places, drinking its rays. A dark figure clapped her hands and the light was gone.
    “There you all are, she hissed.

  8. OOoh yes – the crazier the better! Thank you for all these. Great stuff 🙂

  9. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Revived Emotions

    We relentlessly gazed at each other, his eyes again having the lost spark, my heart all to his unspoken words. A decade had passed sculling through the monotony of life. It was indeed the time to revive our dormant love.

Leave a Reply

