My Weekly Writing Challenge

My new challenge series on flash fiction, which kicked off last week with stories in ten words, produced some amazing stories in so few words. Take a look at the fantastic results below news of this week’s challenge.

So, from ten, we now go to twenty-word stories. If last week’s entries are anything to go by, we’re all in for a treat.

Last week’s ten-word tales:

Sacha Black was the first in line to try this one and produced a great story:

He’s dead. I’m not. My fault though. Prison? Life? Never.

Eddy‘s short fiction is always excellent. Here’s two from him:

1) Birds flew, bombs blew, I drew my gun; barrel jammed.

2) Thanks. Got busy again. But I’m finally back in routine.

Keith Channing‘s is too clever by half!:

I came, I saw, I conkered. I bloody love autumn.

Keith‘s sister, Wendy Pope shows she’s every bit as talented as her brother:

Cormorant flying above. Sea foaming below … black arrow dives in!

Jasdeep Kaur‘s story make you want to know more:

Dense trees, frightful face, a roar, a shriek, cataclysmic silence…

Kate Loveton once again shows her talent for combining more than one challenge at the same time:

Lesson Learned Too Late:

Frenzied, desperate warning unheeded!

Finally… bloodied knife.

Husband should’ve listened.

Jason Moody sent this neat and entertaining story:

Our eyes met. My stomach knotted. Then the bus came.

A huge welcome to Sammi Cox who’s tried the challenge for the first time and written a brilliant flash fiction piece:

Running…

Can’t stop…Get caught…And then…

…Must keep running…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. eddy says:

    I saw her looking at me looking at her. Staring contest. My phone rang. She won. Damn you phone marketers!

  2. eddy says:

    At my son and wife’s funeral a bomb went off and killed everyone I knew. I didn’t die. I lived.

  3. eddy says:

    I had to win Esther’s weekly writing challenge so I googled Keith and Jasdeep’s addresses and contentedly sharpened my knife.

  4. He was not ready to retire
    He wanted to keep working
    Year on year he carried on
    Never, ever shirking,

  5. Sacha Black says:

    Loved Keith’s conkered! Stroke of genius! Ok, 20 words….

    They claimed it was a viral infection. Wrong. It was the start of the apocalypse. Now there’s 10,000 humans left.

  6. teachezwell says:

    Rats! I never did that story. The ones above are super and I’m inspired again.

  7. Ooh my goodness. This is a clever idea. Can I come up with anything in the click of a cursor. No, but I should do Grrrrrrr

  8. Steve says:

    Soooooo many words to come up with!!!!!!

    He thought about their relationship. Was it just impulsiveness; like stirring coffee when nothing has been added? Yes. “Goodbye, Mandy.”

    I posted it at: http://simplicitylane.wordpress.com/2014/10/26/this-post-was-a-challenge/

  9. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Eddy’s plan was out. I don’t know about Keith, but I hibernated. After all, nothing can be above one’s life!

  10. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    My parched anatomy fell in the sand. No camel or oasis. I was lost and now I will be buried.

Leave a Reply

