It’s All Dad’s Fault!

Well, I hate to say it, but it is all Dad’s fault. I couldn’t wait to tell him about my e-book of short stories.

“It’s not a proper book though, is it?” he said.

“Yes,” I replied indignantly.

“But I can’t hold it,” he said, miming the action of holding a book as if I didn’t know what one was or how to hold one.

I was about to say he could hold a Kindle but thought better of it. For Dad, a book isn’t a book unless it’s in print. I have to admit, I actually found his words quite reassuring. The first few months of the Kindle saw headlines along the lines of ‘The Death of the Paperback!!’ I recoiled in horror at the time. I don’t know about you, but I love the feel of a book, of running my hands across the cover and holding it (yes, just like my dad). There’s also nothing quite like the first sniff of a newly bought book (perhaps that’s just me, but books have a fresh, distinctive smell that I simply love. Mmm, on second thought, I think it is just me).

So, although I had just had my book published digitally, I was 100% with my dad. I hadn’t actually thought about bringing the book out as a print version. After all, unless you’re J.K. Rowling or of equal fame, who’s going to want to buy a paperback of short stories? Mine was just so my students, friends and family could see my work if they wanted to, which was why I opted for the e-book.

Well, it turns out quite a few of you want to buy a paperback of my short stories. Thank you to all those who bought my e-book and I hope you enjoyed it. I was greatly touched by all the support. But for every one of you who bought the e-book, there were as many who contacted me to say they’d love the book, but didn’t have a Kindle or any other way of downloading an e-book. Would I consider a print version?

So, it started with Dad and then a lot of you followed suit! Now, thanks to Dad and you, the print version is at the printers and I have a launch date of 15th November. I’ve added six extra stories to the paperback to make something more of it and for anyone buying both versions (enormous thanks to those who do!).

The book will be available to order over the internet at all the major outlets and in bookshops.

I finish with a massive thank you to all of you who have supported me with the book.

thank-you-note

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s All Dad’s Fault!

  1. Congratulations! I’m with you on the new book smell. I do read ebooks but prefer real books. The upside to the digital versions are price.

  2. Well done on getting the ‘proper’ version of the book put together!
    I read both Kindle and paper books. I like both but the Kindle is the winner hands down for convenience when out and about.

  3. eddy says:

    You are definitely not alone. I too love the smell of new books. I don’t have a kindle or a tablet and my phone isn’t big enough to read books so I read ebooks on my laptop which isn’t such a good experience so I always prefer good old print books.

    How did you go about this? Createspace or any other print on demand service? Or vanity publishing?

  4. Sherri says:

    Congratulations Esther! I just got a Kindle Paperwhite for my birthday which I love for ease of reading, especially at night, but I do prefer real books when it comes down to it. So happy for you and I wish you every success πŸ™‚

  5. James Lyons says:

    Very cool. Yes, I agree. i would love an article as well. It sounds like a fascinating story, how it started out as an ebook and now your selling paperback copies. It makes me wonder what would happen if it really took off and you hit the bestseller list. Now that would be a story.

  6. I love the feel of paper. And, yes, I’m guilty of sniffing the pages as if they’re freshly bakes cookies. Congrats on your book. Can’t wait to read the extra stories. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. mihrank says:

    wow – the title has a wonderful meaning – than you take us through a journey in the content of you blog!!

  8. Kate Loveton says:

    I loved your ebook of stories, Esther! They are delightful stories, and full of heart.

    Wishing you much success with the book!

Leave a Reply

