Markets For Writers

Many of you will be familiar with the writers’ bible that is The Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook. For those of you who aren’t, buy a copy!! It’s full of listings including book publishers and magazines. It’s also packed full of information on all aspects of writing. Most bookshops sell the yearbook but if not, you’ll certainly be able to buy it from on-line bookstores.

Every year they hold a short story competition.  There’s usually a theme and for the 2015 competition (closing on February 15th 2015) the theme is ‘Joy’.

The word limit is 2000 words and if you win, you’ll receive a cash prize of £500, plus a place on an Arvon residential writing course of your choice, as well as publication of your story on www.writersandartists.co.uk

Entries can be e-mailed to competition@bloomsbury.com with “WAYB15 competition” as the subject line.

The entry is open to overseas writers.

To find out the conditions of entry, visit the website: https://www.writersandartists.co.uk/competitions

00-9-Quotes-6-Be-Courageous-and-try-to-write....

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Markets For Writers

  1. thenoveilst says:

    Got a copy of that book, although it didn’t have any influence on my two recently published books. Still siting on my book shelf, unopened since I got it…lol I had meant to, but I got a publisher before I did. Funny world 🙂

  2. I’ve never entered a competition in my life, and you may say that’s silly, but I’m confident about my writing, till its being looked at critically by a load of experts, some of them with glasses saying things like, “He needs to use more commas” and all the rest, but I do love the book, although I’ve never used it in anger

Leave a Reply

