Top Tip Of The Week

Just Do It!

This week’s tip is written with a mixture of sadness but also with a sense of motivation. The sadness part relates to me having to have my beloved 18 year-old cat put to sleep this morning. It doesn’t seem five minutes ago that she arrived here, a cute bundle of ginger fluff. Where have those years gone? And that’s where the motivation part comes in. It’s all too easy to let life pass us by. So if you look at your story and think, I’ll enter it into a competition next month or if you’ve finished your book and are wondering, shall I send my script off to an agent or not? just do it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. It’s all too easy to let things slide and then you find months, years pass and they’re full of lost opportunities.

I dedicate this post to Clio, who always sat by me while I worked – and often on my work!

 

New Photos 048

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. I am so sorry to hear of your loss, Esther.

  2. I am so sorry for your loss 😦

  3. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    What a good cat… Tell me what was the funniest thing Clio did:) I like stories…

  4. julielees says:

    How sad you must be feeling. Lots of happy memories to look forward to though, I’m sure. Take comfort in them.

  5. So sorry for you, Esther. I guess I must know what you are feeling. I’ve been through it…but with a doggie.

  6. Hey, I thought you’d like to know that I like your blog so much that I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”. For details about the rules, check out my post http://sondasmcschatter.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/sept-5-14-one-lovely-blog-award/

  7. Steve says:

    To Clio.

  8. JasonMoody77 says:

    Sorry to hear about your cat Esther.

  9. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    I know it’s a difficult time. Just a wish that her soul rests in peace.

  10. Tony says:

    My cat passed away several months ago now and although Esther claims hers to be a family member, they aren’t quite the same thing. When I lost my dear brother in a rather unfortunate manner a few years back, it proved much harder for our family to come to terms with the loss of him, simply due to a human being cannot simply be replaced by another with identical traits, unless one decides to go into cloning. Almost enough from me but I will just state, my final (that’s a family decision) cat talked more than me, so Fudge could be declared a complete fruitcat and yet those know me, would find it impossible for anyone to talk more than I, especially when I’ve had a couple of alco-pops. I still have my pictures and sound-recordings of the dear cat and that is something which does in fact stay with us all.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your brother. Very sad and no, nothing can replace a beloved sibling. It must have been extremely hard for your family to bear such a sad loss and it’s something you never get over.

      Re the sound-recordings of your cat – how lovely you have them!

  11. Tony says:

    Having re-read some of the above, it will probably be lost in translation, so I apologise and I clearly need to attend a Esther Newton grammar class. Please book me in.

    • I’ve just replied and then read this. It made me smile 🙂

      • Tony says:

        Thanks for understanding, Esther. I was mindful afterwards, that when the comments had been posted they could have come across as selfish but Thankfully you’d know me better than that, I would hope. It’ll take time but you’ll get over your grief and your pictures of your beautiful will remain with you forever. Sound-recordings are quite natural for me as an avid birder and general nature nut. Almost every time I attempted to make a recording of, for instance, the garden birds, guess who perked up, Fudgebum the cat.

        Best Wishes

        Tony

      • Thanks Tony,

        I did understand what you were saying and where you were coming from. You didn’t come across as the slightest bit selfish and I don’t think you could.

        Thank you for your kind words and your comments on Fudgebum made me smile 🙂

  12. Sarah says:

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your companion. Cats may only be small but they leave a big hole.

Leave a Reply

