Top Tip Of The Week

Can’t think of a way to open your short story and to ensure you hook your reader? Shock them!

It’s important to grab your reader’s interest in the first few paragraphs. It’s even better if you can do it in the first sentence. The shock factor is a great way of achieving this and for thrusting your reader right in. Here’s some examples: 

  • I died yesterday.
  • If I’d known I’d end the day a murderer, I would have stayed in bed.
  • My eyes had to be deceiving me; if they weren’t, I was standing face to face with a werewolf.
  • I had to face it, my mother wasn’t who I thought she was.
  • Helen took one look over the edge of the roof and jumped.
  • As John awoke and saw the faces peering over him, he knew he was as good as dead.
  • What would you do if the man you loved was plotting to kill you?

These are just a few ideas and hopefully you’ll already be thinking up some exciting story openings of your own.

 

Have a good weekend:

large

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. Those are great. I want to read the books now!

Leave a Reply

